Librarian
Latin American Readers (series)
- The Latin America readersLooking for paper? In Catalyst you can find many of these Readers also available on our shelves.
Specialized databases
These databases are roughly organized chronologically -- older at the top, newer at the bottom.
Not sure where to start? Try the first one - Gale Primary Sources!
Not sure where to start? Try the first one - Gale Primary Sources!
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search across newspapers and digitized collections of primary sources from the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries, including ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online, NCCO: Nineteenth Century Collections Online, The Making of the Modern World, The Times of London, The Illustrated London News, the Times Literary Supplement, The Economist, and many more. Covers 1604 - present (varying by source). Includes 20th c collections about Latin America & Caribbean Studies, Women's Studies Archive, and Archive of Sexuality and Gender. - EEBO: Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A collection of early English books and tracts, 1475 - 1700. - Colonial America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies, covering the period 1606 to 1822. - Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new windowPrimary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender from the 16th through the 20th centuries.
- World Newspaper Archive: Latin American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A collection of Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Includes titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere. Covers 1805 - 1922. - Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Includes full text of English-language and Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries, 1808 - 1980. - Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A collection of documents generated by the UK Foreign and Colonial Offices in countries and regions of Latin America. Covers 1833 - 1969. - Women and Social Movements, International - 1840 to Present This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
An archive of digitized primary documents and teaching tools on International Women and Social Movements. Covers 1840 - current. - ProQuest History Vault This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Fully searchable, digitized archival collections having to do with American history. Carleton has collections available in these topic areas: American Indians and the American West; American Politics and Society; Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle; International Relations and Military Conflicts; Latinx History; Revolutionary War and Early America; Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War; and Women's Studies. Browse full contents. - Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A comprehensive set of declassified government documents, 1942-current. - Latin American Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
The full text of Latin-American newspapers and newswires in Spanish and Portuguese. Covers 2005 - current. - Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An open access digital collection of 20th century alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, and extreme right-wing groups. - LAPOP: Latin American Public Opinion Project This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gathers public opinion surveys of individuals in Latin American countries about their political views, specifically related to democracy.
