Librarian
PsycINFO basics
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is the premier database for all areas of Psychology and related disciplines. This database consists of nearly 2,500 journals that are psychologically relevant, archival, scholarly, peer-reviewed, and regularly published with titles, abstracts, and keywords.
Search tips:
This database provides a lot of specialized limiters on the advanced search screen, which you can access by scrolling down on the PsycINFO home page.
Below are all the categories you can use to limit a search. Some popular categories are Tests & Measures, Methodology (i.e empirical study or literature review), and Population.
Use a different row for each different concept. Add synonyms for concepts in a box separated by the word OR (eg: college OR university).
If you need help coming up with search terms, check out the APA Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. The link is in the upper left corner.
Databases and Indexes
Use databases and indexes to locate articles and book chapters on your topic.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is the online version of Psychological Abstracts. It covers more than 1,700 leading psychological, psychiatric, and related publications. For nearly 300 of these publications, full text articles date from 1992 forward, full image articles from 1987 forward, and articles with text and graphics from 1995 forward. Abstracts date from 1887 to the present. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science indexes journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. This is a great place to start your research, especially in interdisciplinary studies such as Cognitive Science. The Web of Science includes the citation information, allowing you to run citation searches. - Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annual reviews are great places to find literature reviews on particular topics. The database searches all of the Annual Review titles, and we have full text access to Annual Review of Psychology, among others. - ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Contains ACM journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings, all in full text. - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive source of scholarly work on Linguistics. - Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers published scholarly research in fifteen areas of philosophy. Cited articles come from over 480 journals printed in 38 countries.
