Librarian
Finding Books
TIPS:
Do a keyword search for words that seem related to your map
- EXAMPLE: travel and europe and cartography gives us: European cartographers and the Ottoman world, 1500-1750 : maps from the collection of O.J. Sopranos
- EXAMPLE: KW "atlas" AND "Asia" gives you Oxford Comprehensive Atlas of the World
Look at the subject terms on records that seem relevant to your topic. Do a subject search only if you know the subject heading, such as:
- Cartography -- England -- History -- To 1500
- Cartography -- History
- Early Maps
- Turkey -- History -- Ottoman Empire, 1288-1918 -- Maps
***These are only suggestions, there are many subject headings that do not even have the words "map" or "cartography" that could be relevant for your research on your map. Identify other headings by looking at relevant records.
- Recent Trends in the History of Cartography - Annotated BibliographyThe history of cartography has since the 1970s significantly expanded its disciplinary reach, its theoretical directions and approaches, and its scholarship. This annotated bibliography is intended as a guide to the extended field.
Databases to Search
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
The primary place to find scholarship on world history. (For U.S. and Canadian History, use America: History and Life). Covers publications from 1955 - present. - International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
An extensive bibliography of literature about the European Middle Ages. Covers publications from 1967 - current. - Iter Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
Scholarly journal articles, essays, and books on the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Covers 1842 - present (coverage varies by publication type). - BAS: Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Includes scholarship (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. 1971-current. The reference section of the library also has BAS from 1960-1990 in physical form (ref DS 501 B49 1960) - GeoRef This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
The place to start to find Geology literature. GeoRef has articles, conference proceedings, maps, reports, and dissertations. Take a look at the thesaurus if you're having trouble finding good keywords. Covers publications from 1785 - present.
Journals to Browse
- Imago MundiFrom the International Society for the History of Cartography.
- Coordinates: Online Journal of the Map and Geography Round TableAn Open Access journal on topics including map and GIS librarianship, history of cartography, map cataloging, map reading and interpretation and new developments in online mapping.
- The Cartographic JournalFrom the British Cartographic Society.
