Use what you have to find more like it
Read bibliographies and notes of secondary literature carefully. Scholars document their sources carefully in notes and bibliographies.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliographies on hundreds of topics listing authoritative, reliable, and relevant sources for research. Includes contextualizing introductions.
RECOMMENDED MODULES: Art History, Biblical Studies, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance and Reformation
LibKey Nomad
Finding Full Text in Catalyst
WorldCat
- WorldCat (FirstSearch Interface) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find books you can borrow from other libraries. This works best if you already have a particular book or very specific subject in mind.
Interlibrary Loan
- Interlibrary LoanInterLibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that allows Carleton students, staff, and faculty to request items that Carleton and St. Olaf do not own from other libraries.
Databases/Indexes (General)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Most journals are included from their first issue until 5 years ago. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search through the full text of key books and journals from across the disciplines, with emphasis on recent scholarship.
- EBSCO Art Databases
- This link opens in a new window
Search Art Retrospective (1929-1984) and Art Full Text databases together. To search them separately, use the links here.
Databases/Indexes (Medieval & Renaissance Studies)
- International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
An extensive bibliography of literature about the European Middle Ages. Covers publications from 1967 - current. - Manchester Medieval Sources Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
A collection of original medieval documents compiled for the teaching and study of history. - Iter Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
Scholarly journal articles, essays, and books on the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Covers 1842 - present (coverage varies by publication type).
