Citations for Historians
Generally use the Chicago Manual of Style - footnotes & bibliography citation style.
Chicago Manual of Style (18th Edition) by Call Number: ONLINE and Ready Reference Z253 .U69 2024ISBN: 9780226817972Publication Date: 2024Availability and more information from Catalyst...- Carleton History Department Mechanics of CitationThe Carleton History department guidelines are based on The Chicago Manual of Style, now in its 17th edition.
- Zotero
Save, organize, share, and cite your sources -- anything from scholarship to YouTube videos. Our guide has Carleton-specific instructions for installing and using Zotero with personal and lab computers, and for getting the most storage space possible.
Chicago Quick Guide: Notes & Bibliography!
- Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide: Notes & Bibliography
Compiled and published by the Chicago Manual of Style (for footnotes and endnote; humanities). Contains examples for how to cite: Book; Chapter or other part of an edited book; Translated book; E-book; Journal article; News or magazine article; Book review; Interview; Personal communication; Thesis or dissertation; Web page; Social media content; Video or podcast. - Chicago Manual of Style: Complete Citation Examples (chapter 14)
This link opens in a new window
Examples for how to format citations using Chicago for all sorts of primary and secondary sources! - Chicago Manual of Style: Annotated bibliography exampleRemember that your annotated bibliographies are not simply lists. They are creative, rhetorical devices that map out the scholarly conversation on a topic.
Where to find bibliographic info in a book
- Benedictow 2004 - Black Death - excerpts, annotatedTitle, author, publisher, place of publication, and publication date are all circled.
An example of how to use footnotes and bibliography to find other helpful scholarship.
Zotero: Footnotes made easy!
- ZoteroSave, organize, share, and cite your sources -- anything from scholarship to YouTube videos. Our guide has Carleton-specific instructions for installing and using Zotero with personal and lab computers, and for getting the most storage space possible.
Why use Zotero?
-
It will help you gather the right information the first time
-
It knows all the ins and outs of Chicago!
-
It will build a complete bibliography -- formatted correctly! -- with the push of a button!
-
It's free! You can take it with you when you leave!
