Librarian
Isabela Oliveira
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
4th Libe - Room 467
507-222-5304
ioliveira@carleton.edu
507-222-5304
ioliveira@carleton.edu
Subjects: Africana Studies, French, German, History, Linguistics, Medieval and Renaissance Studies, Philosophy, Religion, Russian
Content Note
What is a primary source?
There is no one type of thing that is a primary source. Depending on your particular research a primary source might include...
autobiographies, published scholarly journals, newspapers, archival collections of letters, personal diaries, photographs, videos, interviews, pamphlets, or artwork
Be creative! Ask for help!
Newspapers & Journals
- African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Contains the full text of nearly 300 African-American newspapers from 35 states printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Covers 1827 - 1998.
- Black Dialogue
- This link opens in a new window
Black Dialogue magazine is a celebrated fixture of the U.S. Black Arts Movement, which spanned 1965-1975. - The Black Panther Newspaper
This link opens in a new window
The Black Panther was the official newspaper of the Black Panther Party. It began as a four-page newsletter in Oakland, California, in 1967, and was founded by Huey P. Newton and Bobby Seale. - Black Panther Party Community News Service
- This link opens in a new window
The BPP Community News Service was a weekly periodical with national and international distribution. It was published for 13 years, starting in 1969. - Liberator Magazine
- This link opens in a new window
Combining radical journalism with on-the-ground activism, the magazine was dedicated to the dissemination of a range of cultural criticism aimed at spurring political activism. - NAACP Annual Report
- This link opens in a new window
NAACP Annual Report is an annual accounting of the work and concerns of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP).
- ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Full-text and full-image articles from 15 African-American newspapers spanning the 20th century from their first issue until about 2010. Earliest papers go back to 1893.
Digital Collections
- African American Collections at the Library of Congress
- This link opens in a new window
From the Library's Digital Collections. Includes pamphlets, photographs, books, and miscellaneous papers relating to African-American History. - African American Women (Duke)
- This link opens in a new window
Online Archival Collections, Duke University. - Behind the Veil: Documenting African-American Life in the Jim Crow South
- This link opens in a new window
The Behind the Veil Oral History Project was undertaken by Duke University's Lyndhurst Center for Documentary Studies in 1990. It seeks to record and preserve the living memory of African-American life during the age of legal segregation in the American South, from the 1890s to the 1950. - Black Panther Digital Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Michigan State University's Digital Library: Black Panther Collection. - Black Power! The Movement, The Legacy
- This link opens in a new window
The year 2016 marked the 50th anniversary of Black Power, one of the least understood and vilified movements in American history. Yet the movement has had a tremendous impact on issues of race, identity, politics, criminal justice, culture, art, and education globally. Black Power’s successes and weaknesses have largely molded the past half century. - Black Women's Suffrage Digital Collection
- This link opens in a new window
A collaborative project to provide digital access to materials documenting the roles and experiences of Black Women in the Women’s Suffrage Movement and, more broadly, women’s rights, voting rights, and civic activism between the 1850s and 1960. - Civil Rights Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
Promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale. - Digital Schomburg
- This link opens in a new window
Online exhibitions, maps, and books from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.
- Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents dating from 1490 to the near present from across the Atlantic world relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition, and social justice.
- Tuskegee University's Civil Rights audio collections
- This link opens in a new window
Recordings and photographs of speeches from prominent leaders of the Civil Rights Movement.
History Primary Source Databases
- AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary sources from the 15th-21st centuries, including the social sciences, humanities, global history, popular culture, history of media, gender and sexuality, trade history, borders and migrations, and war and conflict. - America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Contains information about scholarly articles on the history and culture of the U. S. and Canada. (For World History, use Historical Abstracts) - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
The primary place to find scholarship on world history. (For U.S. and Canadian History, use America: History and Life). Covers publications from 1955 - present.
Internet Resources
- American Memory - The Library of Congress - The Civil Rights Era
- This link opens in a new window
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. - Black Panther Party History and Geography
- This link opens in a new window
Includes maps, databases, and a timeline detailing more than 500 incidents involving the Black Panther Party in dozens of locations from 1967 to 1979. - Black Power (National Archives)
- This link opens in a new window
This portal highlights records of Federal agencies and collections that related to the Black Power Movement of the 1960s and 1970s. - Historic Places of the Civil Rights Movement
- This link opens in a new window
A National Register of Historic Places travel itinerary. - History.com - Civil Rights Movement
- This link opens in a new window
This site uses videos, pictures and text to explore the Civil Rights Movement. - Voices of Civil Rights
- This link opens in a new window
This Library of Congress exhibition documents events during the Civil Rights Movement in the United States.
