Key Sources - CHEM 371: Chemistry and Society - Impact and Legacy

LibKey Nomad

Reference & Historical Context

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides full access to hundreds of subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical information, images, bibliographies, and links to journal articles, books, and online sources.

Encyclopaedia of the history of science, technology, and medicine in non-western cultures by edited by Helaine Selin
Call Number: Ref Q124.8 .E53 1997 and Online (2008)
ISBN: 0792340663
Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Encyclopedia of Plague and Pestilence (3rd ed, 2008) by George C. Kohn, ed.
ISBN: 9781438129235
Tracing the history of infectious diseases from the Philistine plague of 11th century BCE to recent SARS and avian flu scares, Encyclopedia of Plague and Pestilence, Third Edition is a comprehensive A-Z reference offering international coverage of this timely and fascinating subject.This updated volume provides concise descriptions of more than 700 epidemics, listed alphabetically by location of the outbreak. Each detailed entry includes when and where a particular epidemic began, how and why it happened, whom it affected, how it spread and ran its course, and its outcome and significance. Black-and-white photographs have been added throughout.

Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A comprehensive collection of scholarship that focuses on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Contains scholarly articles, reference works, primary sources, timelines, biographies, images, maps, charts and tables, and film clips, among many other things.
Oxford Handbooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
High quality treatments of major topics, written by major scholars in the field and pointing toward key literature.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
An authoritative full text collection of the history of scholarship in several different academic subjects. Includes over 260 volumes published since 1960 by Cambridge University Press.

Secondary Sources

IsisCB Explore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research tool for the history of science, whose core dataset comes from bibliographical citations in the Isis Bibliography of the History of Science.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Contains information about scholarly articles on the history and culture of the U. S. and Canada. (For World History, use Historical Abstracts)
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
The primary place to find scholarship on world history. (For U.S. and Canadian History, use America: History and Life). Covers publications from 1955 - present.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Contains scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines from across the disciplines and from popular culture. Much of the content is available in full text. An ELM Database.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A vast index of literature from the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Also offers cited reference searching to see who has cited a particular document. 1898 - current.
ProQuest Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
The ideal starting point for public health information and research. Contains core public health literature including journals, news, trade publications, reports and more.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
The new, updated version of SciFinder Scholar. Find chemical and related scientific information. FIRST TIME USERS must register to search this database here.