From the University of Detroit Mercy. 1830s-1860s covered. Search by keyword, subject, name, date, organization, newspaper.

This site offers access to multiple newspapers from both the Confederate and Union states. Over 1,400 newspapers are in the archive, but not all of them are from the Civil War years. Search across the newspapers for a range of contemporary stories from both sides of the war. From the Library of Congress.

Freedmen's Record is a historical journal published in United States by the New England Freedmen's Aid Society. This collection contains issues published between 1865 and 1874.

From the Library's Digital Collections. Includes pamphlets, photographs, books, and miscellaneous papers relating to African-American History.

Primary sources that document the cultural history of the American South. Includes diaries, autobiographies, travel accounts, titles about slavery, and regional literature. Emphasis is on the 19th century. The subject browse under the letter S gives a sense of the range of materials related to slavery. The University Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill sponsors Documenting the American South, and the texts and materials come primarily from its southern holdings.

Browse and search images from the Photographs and Prints Division of the Schomburg Center.

Ful-text archive of periodicals and books from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The two archives have different contents, so be sure to search both.

Over 200 legal and personal documents related to the institution of slavery in the United States from 1757-1860s.

Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves.

An expanding resource compiling independent collections focused upon race and slavery in the American South, made searchable through a single, simple interface.

A comprehensive resource devoted to representing the lives of peoples of the historical slave trade -- those enslaved, those who owned slaves, those connected with the trade, and those who sought to abolish the trade and emancipate slaves.

Contains information on more than 35,000 slave voyages involving the forcible transport of more than 12 million Africans to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Featuring select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history.

This collection consists of 105 library books and manuscripts, totalling approximately 8,700 pages drawn principally from the Law Library and the Rare Book and Special Collections Division of the Library of Congress, with a few from the General Collections.

Includes population and market price data on enslaved persons and slaveowners. Much of the data has been drawn from Historical Statistics of the United States.

Almost seven hours of recorded interviews presented here took place between 1932 and 1975 in nine Southern states. Twenty-three interviewees, born between 1823 and the early 1860s, discuss how they felt about slavery, slaveholders, coercion of slaves, their families, and freedom.

These collections consists of diaries and collections of letters from the Civil War era found in Special Collections and Archives. The diaries offer a unique look into the lives of common soldiers, spies and even a bodyguard of Abraham Lincoln. Letters include both private and official correspondence. Correspondents in the latter group include Rufus King and Ulysses S. Grant. Transcripts are provided for each handwritten page.

An online collection of digitized Civil War letters, newspapers, images, photographs, and more from Michigan State University on Michigan Union soldiers.

Featuring select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history.