Searching for Peer-Reviewed Articles
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Use Google's special academic search to locate scholarly articles from across disciplines. On campus, the preferences are set to indicate the Library's full-text access to what you find (links on the right). Use the "cited by" link to see who has cited a particular work you're interested in.
Google Scholar is a quick, easy way to locate articles for your assignment. There are advantages AND disadvantages of using Google Scholar. Below are some of the pros and cons of using Google Scholar for literature searching.
| ADVANTAGES | LIMITATIONS |
|---|---|
| Free, familiar, and easy to use | Coverage is not comprehensive; should not be your only source. |
| Searches a wide variety, including articles, books, reports, and patents, etc. | Links to many resources that are not free to access |
| Easy to find articles related to the ones you're interested in | Unclear how it decides what is "scholarly" material |
| Can link you directly to Carleton's Gould Library materials | Limited options for narrowing results, including peer reviewed articles |
| Can save citations and articles for later | Links directly to publisher websites, where access may not be free |
Check the formatting of the citations provided. They are not always accurate.
Additional Resources
Below are two recommended databases you can use in addition to Google Scholar for finding relevant articles. These databases are useful not only for this class, but also all for STEM disciplines and more. For more information on how to use these resources, you can consult the Web of Science Help Guide from UMN and How to Use ScienceDirect from Empire State University, or schedule an appointment with your librarian.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
The premier research tool for scientific study. Includes the Web of Science citation indexes, BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents Connect, Derwent Innovations Index, Inspec, and MEDLINE. - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A core collection of full text articles in the sciences and social sciences, as well as reference works, handbooks and book series. Covers 1997 - current.
Finding Books
Catalyst
The Gould Library has rich collections of books, journals, government documents, and other resources. You may access them via Catalyst, the online catalog that is shared by Carleton and St. Olaf. You may search Catalyst by title, author, subject, or word.
