Librarian
Research/IT Desk
Contact:
Contact the Reference Librarians online
reference@carleton.edu
reference@carleton.edu
507-222-4264
Subjects: General Reference
LibKey Nomad
Welcome!
Welcome to the HIST 230 Research Guide! Here you will find resources to help you with your history research. Use the side navigation to find:
- Resources to find information on your topic (scroll down)
- Resources for finding primary sources
- Information on how to cite your sources in Chicago style
- Information on how to schedule an appointment with your librarian
Reference Sources
Begin your search with reference works to find background information, locate statistics and facts, gather ideas for keywords to use in searching databases and build a bibliography. Come back to these sources to clarify concepts or facts as you continue your research.
The African American experience: an historiographical and bibliographical guideCall Number: E184.65 .A37 2001 and OnlineThis volume provides a comprehensive bibliographical and analytical guide to this growing body of literature as well as an analysis of how the study of African Americans has changed
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by ISBN: 9780028658162Publication Date: 2005-12-16Users looking for authoritative and comprehensive information about black history, figures and accomplishments now have a defining and current reference to address their needs.
Harvard guide to African-American history by Call Number: REF : E185 .H326 2001 and OnlineEssential reference source for transnational black history.
Africana: the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience by ISBN: 0195170555Publication Date: 2005-04-07This new, greatly expanded edition of the original work broadens the foundation provided by Africana.
Catalyst
Catalyst is the shared online catalog of the libraries of Carleton College and St. Olaf College. It provides an access point to the books, periodicals, government documents, and electronic resources available at Carleton or St. Olaf.
Library of Congress Subject Headings are the words and phrases you can use to do a subject search in Catalyst (as opposed to a keyword search, where you may use any words you like).
When starting out, it is often helpful to do a keyword search on your topic, and then to examine the subject headings of the results you find relevant. Catalyst displays these subject headings as links and clicking on one of them will automatically conduct a subject search for that particular topic.
Try searching for these subjects...
|
On African Americans:
|
On topics/events:
|
Key Databases
- ProQuest Black Studies This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Historical Black newspapers, archival documents and collections, key government materials, videos, writings by major Black intellectuals and leaders, scholarly journals, and essays by top scholars. - Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A comprehensive collection of scholarship that focuses on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Contains scholarly articles, reference works, primary sources, timelines, biographies, images, maps, charts and tables, and film clips, among many other things. - Umbra Search This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Portal to digital African American history and culture collections online. - Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents dating from 1490 to the near present from across the Atlantic world relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition, and social justice. - America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Contains information about scholarly articles on the history and culture of the U. S. and Canada. (For World History, use Historical Abstracts)
Internet Resources
- African American History (BlackPast)These materials include an online encyclopedia of over 4,000 entries, the complete transcript of more than 300 speeches by African Americans and other people of African ancestry, over 140 full text primary documents, bibliographies, timelines and six gateway pages with links to digital archive collections, African and African American museums and research centers, genealogical research websites, and more than 200 other website resources on African American and global African history.
- Black History (National Archives)Provides materials in a general collection as well as based on chronological topics including slavery, abolition, and reconstruction.
- Black History: Moments in TimeThe interactive timeline and map from The Root, while certainly not exhaustive, do aim to highlight some of the many turning points, tragedies and triumphs in Black history. The Root staff compiled almost 200 historical facts for readers to peruse.
- Key Moments in Black History (Timeline from InfoPlease)A chronology of Black history from the early slave trade to today.
- Schomburg Center for Research in Black CultureDigital Schomburg provides access to trusted information, interpretation, and scholarship on the global Black experience through online materials at the Schomburg Center created and curated by our staff and librarians. Visitors can locate online articles, digital exhibitions, photographs, audio and video streams, historical projects, and external links for research in the history and cultures of the peoples of Africa and the African Diaspora.
