Primary source collections
Remember to always ask of your primary sources: Why do you want to use this? What will you learn from it?
- Forest History Society: Digital CollectionsThis Research Portal provides access to over 45,000 citations to published items on environmental history topics, over 30,000 historic photographs, U.S. Forest Service history materials, descriptions of nearly 8,000 archival collections from over 450 North American repositories, and much more.
- DPLA: Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and transcripts)
Aggregates millions of digital items from major libraries and collections across the country, including Carleton College. - ProQuest History Vault This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Fully searchable, digitized archival collections having to do with American history. Carleton has collections available in these topic areas: American Indians and the American West; American Politics and Society; Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle; International Relations and Military Conflicts; Latinx History; Revolutionary War and Early America; Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War; and Women's Studies. Browse full contents. - Territorial Papers of the United States, 1764-1953 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of pre-statehood documents including Native American negotiations and treaties, official correspondence with the federal government, military records, judicial proceedings, population data, financial statistics, land records, and more. - Climate Science and Sustainability: Global Origins of Modern Environmentalism, 1957-1995 This link opens in a new windowJournal articles and reports collected and translated by the CIA covering the rise of modern climate science and environmentalism during the second half of the 20th century.
- Environmental Justice Resources from Health & Human ServicesA variety of resources from HHS related to EJ initiatives across multiple agencies.
- Water Rights & Resources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content is dedicated to an understanding of the complexity of state and federal laws that govern all aspects of water in society, from its municipal use to restoring its pristine condition. Collecting congressional documents, books, legislative histories on major legislation, and Supreme Court briefs on related cases, this collection touches on a wide range of water issues. Topics covered include irrigation, hydropower, water conservation, drinking water quality, and tribal water rights.
- National Forest Service LibraryThis digital collection contains documents, reports, photographs, audio files, and other items supporting the mission and provides access to non-peer-reviewed Forest Service publications. The content of these publications may need to be completed or superseded. Additionally, the user is responsible for verifying the accuracy of the information provided.
- Environment and Society PortalThe Environment & Society Portal is a gateway to open access resources on the human-environment relationship
