Special Collections
Gould Library
First floor, #170
Email Us
Special Collections materials are available for viewing by appointment only. We welcome members of the Carleton community, as well as the general public. We look forward to seeing you in the Reading Room!
The following guide is intended to help you make the most of your appointment. Any additional questions can be directed to us at specialcollections@carleton.edu.
Special Collections includes important and rare printed books, maps, and artists' books that date from as early as the 13th century to the present. Historical as well as contemporary materials cover literature, medieval and renaissance studies, music, and much more. These collections provide primary resources and inspirational materials for the Carleton College community and outside researchers.
Before Your Visit
- Identify the specific materials you anticipate working with. Information on how to find items in our collections can be found on our website.
- Make sure you have booked an appointment to view materials at least 24 hours in advance.
- Special Collections items cannot be checked out. To make the most of your appointment, you may want to bring a device to take photographs, and other helpful research tools such as a laptop or notebook.
- Due to the fragile nature of the collections, we ask that you enjoy food and beverages outside the reading room, don't use pens, and wash your hands prior to your visit. We will also provide storage for backpacks and bags when you arrive.
During Your Visit
- Your Special Collections appointment will be held in the Reading Room located on the first floor of the library, Library Room #170. From the elevator, Library Room 170 will be on your left. Pass the sign for the College Archives (Library Room 164) and two study rooms.
- The materials you requested in advance will be waiting at your table when you arrive.
- Appointments are one hour sessions. If you need more than one hour, or need additional items pulled, we encourage you to schedule additional appointments.
- Items in Special Collections do not leave the library, and must be used in the Reading Room.
- A Special Collections staff member will be present to help with handling materials, and answer any questions you may have.
