Librarian
Sean Leahy
Contact:
4th Libe - Room 465
507-222-5179
smleahy@carleton.edu
507-222-5179
smleahy@carleton.edu
Subjects: Anthropology, Astronomy, Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Cognitive Science, Computer Science, Economics, Education, Environmental Studies, Geology, International Relations, Mathematics, Neuroscience, Physical Education, Athletics, and Recreation (PEAR), Physics, Political Economy, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Sociology/Anthropology, Statistics, Theater & Dance
LibKey Nomad
Full-Text Journal Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowOnline archive of anthropology journals (use the advanced search to limit by discipline). No subjects headings pull related articles together, but full-text searching is an advantage. Most publishers do not allow articles from the most recent 3-5 years to be included in JSTOR, so look elsewhere for the most current research.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Contains the full-text of the journals, newsletters, and bulletins of the American Anthropological Association (AAA). Covers 1960 - current. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search through the full text of key books and journals from across the disciplines, with emphasis on recent scholarship.
Journal Article Indexes
- Anthropological Index OnlineAn old-school interface, but an excellent tool to find literature in the field of anthropology.
- Anthropological Literature This link opens in a new windowLarge article index for anthropology; no full text and no abstracts. The advantage to this database is the subject headings. It is the only database for which you can search "medical anthropology" as a subject phrase and get results.
- Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary index allows you to limit to works in anthropological journals and provides cited reference searching, which allows you to track citations to and from the literature.
Literature Reviews
A literature review surveys scholarly articles, books and other sources (e.g. dissertations, conference proceedings) relevant to a particular issue, area of research, or theory, providing a description, summary, and critical evaluation of each work. The purpose is to offer an overview of significant literature published on a topic
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowArticles in this collection offer comprehensive summaries of the state of research on topics from many disciplines in the sciences and social sciences, including Anthropology, Sociology and Political Science. Covers 1997 - current.
