Librarian
Sean Leahy
Contact:
4th Libe - Room 465
507-222-5179
smleahy@carleton.edu
507-222-5179
smleahy@carleton.edu
Subjects: Anthropology, Astronomy, Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Cognitive Science, Computer Science, Economics, Education, Environmental Studies, Geology, International Relations, Mathematics, Neuroscience, Physical Education, Athletics, and Recreation (PEAR), Physics, Political Economy, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Sociology/Anthropology, Statistics, Theater & Dance
LibKey Nomad
Literature Reviews
A literature review surveys scholarly articles, books and other sources (e.g. dissertations, conference proceedings) relevant to a particular issue, area of research, or theory, providing a description, summary, and critical evaluation of each work. The purpose is to offer an overview of significant literature published on a topic
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowArticles in this collection offer comprehensive summaries of the state of research on topics from many disciplines in the sciences and social sciences, including Anthropology, Sociology and Political Science. Covers 1997 - current.
Anthropology Reference
All Formats
Search by keyword and then use the options in the left-hand menu of the result list to the "Collection" to "Carleton College Reference" or to limit the "Material Type" to "Reference Entries" to find reference articles in Carleton's online and print reference books.
Example: strauss
Example: bioethics
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowGreat place to find bibliographies and general sources on fields of study.
- Reference Universe This link opens in a new windowSearch the indexes of Carleton's print reference collection.
Selected Reference Titles
Encyclopedias and other general reference titles are used to get an overview of a topic written by a specialist, find related terms that will apply to your topic, or identify a selected bibliography.
- Annual Review of AnthropologyCall Number: CC Books GN1 .A623 and OnlineAvailability and more information from Catalyst...
Summarizes trends in subfields of anthropology; contains extensive bibliographies on each topic. 
The Dictionary of Anthropology by Call Number: CC Reference GN 11 .D48 1997Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Essay-type entries on topics with a brief list of references.
History of Physical Anthropology by Call Number: CC Reference GN 50.3 .H57 1997ISBN: 0815304900Publication Date: 1996-12-01Availability and more information from Catalyst...
A two volume set; the Preface states that entries include "...the development of specific areas of scientific inquiry and theory...the discipline's intellectual and institutional development in specific countries...biographical sketches."- Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory byCall Number: CC Reference GN 281 .E53 1988Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology by Call Number: CC Reference GN 307 .E52 1996ISBN: 0805028773Publication Date: 1996-06-01Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Articles written by well-known anthropologists; covers the intellectual and conceptual topics in the discipline; includes a list of discipline journals.
Social and Cultural Anthropology: The Key Concepts by Call Number: CC Reference GN 316 .R37 2000Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Major concepts are defined and explained; extensive bibliography included.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life by Call Number: CC Reference GN 333 .W67 1998Availability and more information from Catalyst...
A four volume set arranged by continent; short sections on various aspects of each cultural group.
Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology by Call Number: CC Reference GN 345 .H37 1998 and OnlineISBN: 0761991514Publication Date: 1998-09-22Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Chapter topics range from research design to ethics to data analysis methods; each section ends with a conclusion, notes, and references.- The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Hunters and Gatherers byCall Number: CC Reference GN 388 .C35 1999 and OnlineAvailability and more information from Catalyst...
The ethnographies section is arranged by continent in general, special topic essays on the history and social theories of hunters/gatherers, cross-cultural perspective, and how they exist in a global world. - The Encyclopedia of the Peoples of the World byCall Number: CC Reference GN 495.4 .E53 1993Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Useful index; select bibliography at the end of the book. 
Encyclopedia of World Cultures by Call Number: CC Reference GN 550 .E53 1991Availability and more information from Catalyst...
vol. 1. North America -- vol. 2. Oceania -- vol. 3. South Asia -- vol. 4. Europe -- vol 5. East and Southeast Asia -- vol. 6 Russia and Eurasia, China -- vol. 7. South America -- vol. 8. Middle America and the Carribean -- vol. 9. Africa and the Middle East -- vol. 10. Indexes; prepared by HRAF at yale.
