LibKey Nomad
Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD)
- OECD Economic Outlook - Statistics
This link opens in a new window
Data from the OECD Economic Outlook, the OECD’s twice-yearly analysis of the major economic trends and prospects for the next two years. Prepared by the OECD Economics Department, the Outlook puts forward a consistent set of projections for output, employment, government spending, prices and current balances based on a review of each member country and of the induced effect on each of them on international developments. - Main Economic Indicators
This link opens in a new window
The title says it all. Main place to start for comparable international economic statistics. See also the print version in the library, newest editions in Reference:
CC Ref HA1107 .O68 - OECD Factbook
- This link opens in a new window
This compendium of statistics collected by the OECD is free on the web. A good way to learn what types of data are collected by this organization and where to find them.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for statistics from OECD or use the drop-down to browse by country (often the more efficient route).
World Bank
- WDI: World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2002 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
For data documentation, see reference book: World Development Indicators, Ref HC 59.15 .W656.
- Information by CountryFrom this page, select a country of interest then select "Data & Statistics" from the upper left menu once you get to the country overview page.
- Development Data by CountryKey development data collected by the World Bank and other official sources. Statistics available for countries and also groups of countries.
International Monetary Fund (IMF)
- IMF Members' Financial Data by CountrySummaries include quota, reserve position, SDR holdings, outstanding credit, recent lending arrangements, projected payments due the IMF, and monthly historical transactions with the Fund.
- IFS: International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
Thousands of time series covering more than 200 countries and areas, published by the IMF (International Monetary Fund). Covers 1945 - current. - BOPS: Balance of Payments Statistics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Data query tool)
Search through quarterly and annual time-series data on international economic transactions and international investment position, published by the International Monetary Fund. Covers 1960 - current. - GFS: Government Finance Statistics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes budgetary and extra-budgetary financial operations data for governments. Covers 1980 - present. - DOTS: Direction of Trade Statistics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Includes time series of value of exports and imports between countries and their trading partners, published by the IMF (International Monetary Fund). Covers 1980 - current.
Global SWF Dataset
The Global SWF dataset contains data points on sovereign wealth funds, central banks, and public pension funds from around 300 sovereign investor entities around the world. Access to this dataset is restricted to Carleton College faculty, staff, and students. To request access to this dataset, email reference@carleton.edu.
Librarians: The Global SWF Dataset is hosted on Dropbox. Open the README file in Dropbox to obtain the password.
United Nations
- Statistical YearbookCall Number: CC Reference HA12.5 .U63Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Like the Statistical Abstract of the United States, this book is a great way to find out what kind of data are collected by the UN and where to find them.
- UNData This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Very large database of selected series of country- and area-level data from the UN and other official sources.
- UNData - DatasetsFind listed here all the datasets accessible through the undata search system. Sometimes it's easier to go directly to the most relevant source than search across all of them.
- International StatisticsListing of all statistics programs of the UN as well as other places to find international statistics.
European Union
- European Union Encyclopedia and Directory 2005CC Reference HC241.2 .E8334
This reference book contains basic country statistics tables, and can help one identify which agencies collect which data, and how those data will be organized on eurostat.
- Eurostat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Detailed and comparable statistical data at EU level. See also the official web site of the European Union.
United States Census
- International Data BaseData base for 227 countries plus some useful links.
Development Banks
Compendia and Collections of International Data
- Federal Reserve Economic Development (FRED)A handy tool from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis that lets you search for international statistics by keyword, country, author, or subject.
- Penn World Tables - Online data access"...a set of national accounts economic time series covering many countries...." This link goes to version 9.0. See the full release page for more view options and variable descriptions.
Visualize International Data
- Gapminder
- This link opens in a new window
Gapminder is a web interface that allows the user to map data from multiple sources to look for patterns. It is a great way to explore freely available data and to discover sources of data on topics.
In Print in the Libe
- World Development IndicatorsCall Number: CC Ref HC59.15 .W656Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Use this text alongside the online version to get full definitions of variables and reports to help put the data into context. - UN Statistical yearbook.Call Number: CC Ref HA12.5 .U63Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Guides to International Data
- Library of Congress Guide to International Economics and Trade SourcesA guide from a few years back, but still relevant in its description of major sources.
