Librarian
LibKey Nomad
Selected Ethnomusicology Resources
-
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Call Number: Ref ML100 .G16 1998 and OnlineAvailability and more information from Catalyst...
Each volume covers a continent, and each signed article includes an extensive bibliography. The first volume also includes essays on the ethnomusicologist and their methods as well as a comprehensive glossary, discography, bibliography, and index for each volume.
-
Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Includes audio files from Smithsonian Folkways Recordings comprising a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions.
-
Ethnomusicology: Global Field RecordingsThousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study.
-
JVC Video Anthology of World Music and DanceA comprehensive collection of ethnographic music and dance videos containing over 500 performances from 100 countries.
-
Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and transcripts)
Access to streaming videos along with transcripts useful for ethnographic research.
-
The Black Music History LibraryA living collection of books, articles, documentaries, series, podcasts and more about the Black origins of traditional and popular music dating from the 18th century to present day.
Article Databases
-
Music Index This link opens in a new windowThis is one of the primary tools for locating articles written in any given year (for 1949 to 1969, see the print version in the reference room at Ref ML118 .M84). Keyword searching is often the best way to navigate this database, but be sure to look at the subjects (found at the bottom of any article entry) to see what keyword strings might be most useful.
-
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
A vast index to scholarship about music, ethnomusicology, music therapy, and the like. Covers 1967 - present. -
JSTOR This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Most journals are included from their first issue until 5 years ago. -
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search through the full text of key books and journals from across the disciplines, with emphasis on recent scholarship.
