LibKey Nomad
Africana Studies reference sources
Begin your search with reference works to find background information, locate statistics and facts, gather ideas for keywords to use in searching databases and build a bibliography. Come back to these sources to clarify concepts or facts as you continue your research.
Africana by ISBN: 0195170555Publication Date: 2005-04-07This new, greatly expanded edition of the original work broadens the foundation provided by Africana. More than 4,000 articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religion, ethnic groups, organizations and countries on both sides of the Atlantic.- The African American Experience byISBN: 0313065004With the Civil Rights and Black Power movements of the 1960s came an increasing demand for the study and teaching of African American history followed by the publication of increasing numbers of titles on African American life and history. This volume provides a comprehensive bibliographical and analytical guide to this growing body of literature as well as an analysis of how the study of African Americans has changed.
- Historical Dictionaries for African NationsA valuable reference series for the history of specific African nations; the dictionaries contain chronologies, brief topical entries, and bibliographies; to locate a historical dictionary for a particular country, perform a title search in Catalyst for "Historical Dictionary of (country name)."
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A comprehensive collection of scholarship that focuses on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Contains scholarly articles, reference works, primary sources, timelines, biographies, images, maps, charts and tables, and film clips, among many other things.
The Oxford Handbook of Modern African History by ISBN: 9780199572472Publication Date: 2013-12-01The Oxford Handbook of Modern African History represents an invaluable tool for historians and others in the field of African studies. This collection of essays, produced by some of the finest scholars currently working in the field, provides the latest insights into, and interpretations of,the history of Africa.
The Palgrave Handbook of African Women's Studies by ISBN: 9783030280987Publication Date: 2021-10-29This definitive handbook is the first reference of its kind bringing together knowledge, scholarship, and debates on themes and issues concerning African women everywhere. It unearths, critiques, reviews, analyses, theorizes, synthesizes and evaluates African women's historical, social, political, economic, local and global lives and experiences with a view to decolonizing the corpus.
Searching for reference sources
All Formats
Where do reference resources fit into your research? They are great tools for research tasks like:
- getting an overview of your topic
- finding out what research has been done in your area over a long period of time
- discovering synonyms or keywords that will apply to your topic
- creating a list of authors to investigate
- discovering additional resources in the bibliography
Using the Catalyst search box above, you can do a keyword search and narrow down your results to "reference entries" on the left-hand side, after you have run a search. This will allow you to discover reference articles by name and the encyclopedias where those can be found.
