Gould Library staff continue our commitment to support the teaching and research needs of the Carleton community. Information on remote access to library resources and services will be updated regularly on the Remote Resources and Guidance for Library Users page and this FAQ. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need additional assistance.
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A repository of social science datasets for secondary research. Members of the Carleton community may search the catalog, read data documentation and download datasets after creating a personal "MyData" account with their Carleton email address.
The Roper Center data archive at the University of Connecticut includes datasets for secondary analysis from over 10,000 studies of public opinion. Includes surveys by Gallup, NORC, ABC News and Washington Post and more. Browse by topic to get an idea of the collections
Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS) data for the U.S. Census, International Censuses and the Current Population Survey. The Population Center also provides harmonized data from the U.S. National Health Interview Survey, and the American Time Use Survey.
First place to look for government statistics. Browse by topic or search by keyword and find tables on nearly any topic. Follow the source information to learn where to look next for similar statistics or data. Also a great source to learn about the major data-collecting agencies and programs in the U.S. government.
Search summaries of statistical publications, then link to the full-text of selected publications on Statistical Universe and government Web sites. This comprehensive database includes the three major statistical indexes (American Statistics Index, Statistical Reference Index, and Index to International Statistics).
"One stop shopping for federal statistics;" a subject guide to the Web sites of more than 70 statistical agency sites; useful if you are starting your search by topic and are unsure what agency(ies) collect the data.
Public opinion survey data archived at ICPSR. Carleton students can access these datasets for analysis with statistical software. NOTE: you will need to create your own account using your Carleton email (but not your Carleton password).