Librarian
reference@carleton.edu
LibKey Nomad
Looking for Articles
Search these online indexes for journals featuring articles about your topic.
Usually, it's helpful to start a search experimenting with lots of different keywords about your topic. Then, narrow your search once you have learned the distinct, precise subject headings each database uses.
Bibliographic Databases
Databases, indexes and abstracts give you an organized entry point into periodical literature. Carleton does not own every journal title indexed in the electronic databases the library offers. Check Catalyst (the library's catalog) to see if we own the journal title you are looking for. If we don't, take advantage of our Interlibrary Loan Services.
Core Sociology Databases
Use these disciplinary indexes to literature in the field of sociology and the broader social sciences as your core search tools. Then use the more specialized indexes in the next section to home in on more focused collections of literature.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Main index to the discipline. - Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles in this collection offer comprehensive summaries of the state of research on topics from many disciplines in the sciences and social sciences, including Anthropology, Sociology and Political Science. Covers 1997 - current.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad, multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary search tool. Covers 1973 - current. - Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Available through the Web of Knowledge. Search through current and historical literature in the social sciences, and perform cited reference searching to see who has cite a particular document. Covers 1898 - current.
Note: To do cited reference searching, click on "cited reference search," fill in an author's last name and publication date, figure out which of the resulting list of citations match the work you're looking for, and then "finish search" to see who has cited that work. - PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about goverment policy; international in coverage.
Specialized Databases
Use more specialized indexes to home in on more focused collections of literature. There are more options on the electronic resources page. Ask a librarian for assistance finding those most appropriate for your topic.
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global coverage of all aspects of agriculture. Good for topics in land use and policy, access to water, and rural communities, for example. - Diversity Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
It focuses on ethnic, minority, and native presses, grassroots newspapers and magazines, and journals, news and newsletters focusing on gender and sexuality. The collection aims to bring out dissenting and minority voices to support research and teaching in women’s studies, lgbtq studies, ethnic studies, and more. Covers 1970 - current. - HLAS: Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
HLAS is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars.
International African BibliographyCall Number: CC Reference DT3 .I58Arranged by area of descending size; 1980 to date issues have subject and ethnic group indexes.
- ProQuest Criminology Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A broad search across all types of criminology literature, both US and international, from scholarly research published in peer reviewed journals to news, crime statistics, and crime blogs as well as correctional and law enforcement trade publications. - ProQuest Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The ideal starting point for public health information and research. Contains core public health literature including journals, news, trade publications, reports and more. - Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Covers women's studies literature and feminist research, including political science, humanities, sociology, history, business and education. Covers 1972 - current.
- Women's Studies Index (1989 to 2002)Call Number: REF HQ 1180 .W683Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Indexes 82 periodicals, comprehensive indexing of scholarly titles. Women Studies Abstracts (1972 to present)
Call Number: REF HQ 1111 .W65Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Arranged by broad subject; slightly more detailed subject index; some abstracts are included; popular and scholarly periodicals indexed.
Important Sociology Journals
Familiarity with core journals will help you narrow your results in database searches.
The following links provide information about Carleton's subscriptions to these journals and links to online access.
