A comprehensive current news database, contains hundreds of local, regional, national, and international news sources (including the St. Paul Pioneer Press and Minneapolis Star Tribune).

(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Provides an alternative to corporate-controlled media at the national and local levels. Subject specific publications and grass roots media are included.

Comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, find historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports. Covers 1970-current.

To restrict a search to only news sources, use the second row search box marked "Search in all News for." This search includes print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, news wires, blogs, and newspapers (local, regional, national, and international) with deep archives.

Newspapers dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s. Contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional, and state titles as well as small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.

(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad collection of newspaper articles published across the U.S.. Covers 1995 - current for most newspapers. An ELM Database.

This database contains a very broad array of content, a portion of which are widely read magazines published in the United States. Filter to magazine content and you'll have access to Gourmet, Vanity Fair, Vogue, Time, InStyle, Esquire, Good Housekeeping, Redbook, Town & Country, Women's Day, Harper's and Harper's Bazaar, National Geographic, The New Republic, The New York Times Magazine, Newsweek, and many more.

An archival collection of magazines related to the history of the film and entertainment industries, 1880 - 2000.

A searchable archive of major periodicals devoted to LGBT+ interests, dating from the 1950s through to recent years.

A fully digitized archive of the backfiles of several major North American women's magazines, including Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies Home Journal, Parents, Redbook, Seventeen, WIN News, and Woman's Day. Coverage varies by publication and ranges from 1886 through 2005.

(Searches through citations and the full text)
Full-text and full-image articles for major newspapers from the United States (including Historical Black Newspapers); plus Le Monde, the Jerusalem Post (formerly the Palestine Post), The Korea Times, London Evening Standard‎, South China Morning Post, and the Times of India. Each paper is available from its first issue through about 2013 (depending on the paper). Earliest papers start in 1827.

(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search across fully digitized newspapers, including all articles, advertisements, and illustrations.

1690-1922

(Searches through citations and the full text)
Includes full text of English-language and Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries, 1808 - 1980.

(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
This collection includes microfilm for foreign newspapers and foreign dissertations. You may borrow microfilm reels and other materials through Interlibrary Loan.

(Searches through citations and the full text)
U.S. public opinion poll data, organized at the question level from the Roper Center, 1942 - current.
NOTE: You will need to register with your Carleton email address to begin fully using this database.

Access to data from surveys of individuals in countries around the world on attitudes, values, trust, and demographics.