AHCRP provides evidence-based information on health care outcomes; quality; and cost, use, and access. Categories include associations, databases, government, journals and publications.

Nonpartisan policy center conducts both nationally representative household surveys and nationally representative physician surveys from the late 1990s and early 2000s relating to care access, quality, and coverage.

Formerly the Health Care Financing Administration, the CMMS measures spending for health care in the U.S. by type of service deliveres (hospital care, physician services, nursing home care, etc.) and source of funding for those services (private health insurance, Medicare, Medicaid, out-of-pocket, etc.). Expenditure estimates for 1960-1998 are currently available in data files or in published articles listed.

Research federal legislation and budgets for food and drug oversight and program.

"A tool for identifying, tracking, analyzing, and comparing statistics on hospitals at the national, regional, and state level." Use this web site to search for and compare data on hospital stays, morbidity, hospital procedure, charges, and other data collected at the state level and reported to the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), which developed and maintains this site.

The Health and Retirement Study (HRS) and Asset and Health Dynamics Among the Oldest Old (AHEAD) are nationally representative longitudinal data collections that examine retirement and the aging of society.

HMCA "is sponsored by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the largest health care philanthropy organization in the United States. HMCA is the official data archive of the Foundation, and is devoted to preserving and making available research data that have significant secondary-analytic value for expanding knowledge on, and ultimately contributing to, improvement of the health of people in the United States." (Description quoted from the ICPSR site)

IHE is an independent, not-for-profit organization whose mission is to deliver outstanding health economics, health outcomes and health policy research and related services.

From the University of Minnesota Population Center, harmonized annual data and documentation from the 1960's to the present from the U.S. National Health Interview Survey (NHIS).

Multidisciplinary journal published at Duke University. Available at Carleton: Project Muse.

The Medicare Current Beneficiary Survey collects information on health status and use from a nationally representative sample of Medicare users.

Annually surveys a nationally representative number of households and individuals, and their providers, on health status, use of services, satisfaction, and more. Also surveys employers on health plans offered.

A division of the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) the NCHS is the principle health statistics agency of the U.S. Government. This agency's web site offers access to macro- and microdata, including such surveys and collection systems as the National Health Care Survey, National Health Interview Survey, National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey, National Immunization Survey, and the National Vital Statistics System.

Extensive collection of indicators on women's health, provided by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Includes the Quick Health Data Online database (QUDO), the Women's Health Chartbook, and Health Disparities Profiles for each state.

National Conference of State Legislatures allows the public to access selected documents produced by state governments.

Look to the website of the federal government's National Institutes of Health for data on clinical trials and government funding of medical research.

The website for the pharmaceutical industry association contains data (from the industry) about trends in R&D budgets and marketing.

RAND is a nonprofit institution that analyzes and researches public policy.

The Center is primarily concerned with issues related to how the dynamics of the health care market affect health care financing, costs, and access.

The World Health Organization provides statistics on 70 core indicators for the 193 WHO member states, as well as extensive data on other international health concerns.

Waves 1-3, 1998-2005 (study #23241)

Waves II-IV (study #4146)

2000-2006 (study #25763)

Lists multiple places within the Census where data on health insurance is collected, including the American Community Survey (ACS) and the Small Area Health Insurance Estimates (SAHIE)

Large, monthly survey of households conducted for over 50 years by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Known for its annual March supplement which is a source for annual earnings, work experience, migration, cash and non-cash income, pension and health insurance coverage. Also, the May supplement includes earnings, multiple job holding, and premium pay.

Survey of private and public sector employers collecting data on the number and types of private health insurance plans offered, benefits associated with these plans, annual premiums, annual contributions by employers and employees, eligibility requirements, and employer characteristics.

Household data especially strong on income and participation in government programs (e.g., social security, welfare, etc.). Tricky to use and access: datasets are large and non-response rates are high. Nevertheless, you can find employment, education and training, program participation, assets and liabilities, migration, fertility, work schedules, child care, pension, property, and time spent out of work.