Librarian
Search Catalyst
All Formats
Articles
Because environmental issues are constantly changing, it is critical that you consult current scholarly articles. And, because environmental studies is a multi-disciplinary topic, where you search for articles will depend on your topic and argument.
The best way to find articles is through Catalyst and our Databases & Indexes. We have a lot of databases that cover environmental topics. Some specific databases that may be useful for this class are listed on this page.
Oxford Handbook of Environmental Ethics
Interdisciplinary Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Most journals are included from their first issue until 5 years ago. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Is a family of three databases: Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Each enables searching for works referenced or cited by other scholars. This is a great place to go for interdisciplinary topic such as environmental ones. - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A core collection of full text articles in the sciences and social sciences, as well as reference works, handbooks and book series. Strong coverage of planning, energy, and other environmental-related subject areas. Covers 1997 - current. - ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
This tool searches across the AGRICOLA, ESPM, and EIS databases, and it provides full-text titles from around the world. It includes scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. Covers 1960-current.
Core Environmental Ethics Journals at Gould Library
Carleton subscribes to some of the major environmental ethics journals. You'll want to look in these journals for relevant articles when working on your project.
Policy Papers and White Papers
The following indexes allow you to search for articles relevant to public policy research on the environment or for position papers, briefs, and conference materials published by policy institutes. Some are interdisciplinary, while others are focused primarily on the environment. Follow the link for examples of policy papers from the OECD.
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Find reports on public policy topics from major think tanks, research organizations, and advocacy groups including the Hoover Institution, International Monetary Fund, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, RAND Corporation, and the World Bank. Covers 1990-current. - CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and abstracts)
Find scholarship on theory and research in international affairs, including working papers, conference papers, and government reports. 1991 - current. - PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Includes information about articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about international public affairs. Covers publications from 1914 - present.
- SSRN: Social Science Research Network
This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of working and forthcoming papers plus hundreds of thousands of downloadable papers. - EPA's National Service Center for Environmental PublicationsFull access to EPA technical, scientific, and educational materials
- Our Energy LibraryThe OurEnergyLibrary aggregates and indexes publicly available fact sheets, journal articles, reports, studies, and other publications on U.S. energy topics. It is updated every week to include the most recent energy resources from academia, government, industry, non-profits, think tanks, and trade associations.
Philosophy Articles
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers published scholarly research in fifteen areas of philosophy, including ethics. Use the index-provided Subjects for related articles in "Environmental Ethics." - PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
A comprehensive index of works in philosophy. Includes scholarly books and journals as well as scholarship submitted directly by academic philosophers.
NOTE: Some features require a log in, but it is free to set up an account. - Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A&HCI (via the Web of Knowledge) indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, many of which focus on philosophy. It features current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references.
Economics Articles
- EconLit This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Key index to literature in the field of economics. International in scope, it indexes such journals as Ecological Economics and Journal of Environmental Planning & Management.
Educational Studies Articles
- ERIC: Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
The key database for educational-related literature. You may also search ERIC through the free U.S. Department of Education website. 1907 - current. An ELM Database.
