Skip to main content

Gould Library staff continue our commitment to support the teaching and research needs of the Carleton community. Information on remote access to library resources and services will be updated regularly on the Remote Resources and Guidance for Library Users page and this FAQ. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need additional assistance.

ECON 395: Economic Development (Bhuiyan)

For Professor Faress Bhuiyan - Fall 2019

Google Scholar

Google Scholar indexes scholarly material from many publishers and databases, as well as content from author websites. You'll find scholarly articles, books, theses and dissertations, conference papers, and pamphlets.

Google Scholar - General Tips

Here are some general tips to keep in mind when searching Google Scholar.

1. Be sure to set your Scholar preferences to search the Gould library database holdings to check for our access to the full text.  This link is in the upper-right-hand corner of the home page.

2. To get to the full-text of articles and other items from your search results, remember to follow the links on the right-hand side of the page.

3. If you are an EndNote user, you can also set your Scholar preferences to import citations to EndNote.

Accessing Library Materials through Google Scholar

Using Google Scholar's "Library Links"

  1. Click on the three lines in the upper left-hand corner.
  2. Choose "Settings" > "Library Links" search for "Carleton College"
  3. Make sure that the box labeled "Carleton College Full Text" is checked (this is the only box that should be checked)
  4. Save your preferences.
  5. Look for "Full Text" links next to articles when you search. Clicking on this link will act like clicking on the "Find It!" button. Links to ScienceDirect, JSTOR, and other library collections will also bring you to library collections.

undefined

undefined

undefined

Accessing Non-Carleton Full Text

Sometimes the full text of an article is available for free through Google Scholar.

  1. Search Google Scholar for the article.
  2. Look at the right-hand side of the result list. Are there links there that lead you to the full text?
  3. Click on the "All x Versions" link below the result for the article. Are there versions that include the full text of the article?