LibKey Nomad
Search tips
- Browse! There may be options to browse by genre of source, geography, and period.
- "Advanced Search" is almost always a good idea: you can combine text searcing with descriptor searching (information about the text.)
- Remember that you are often searching for language used during the time period.
- Use wildcard search options ($, #, & depending on database) as a way to search for alternate spellings.
- Once you've found documents that seem promising for your topics, make sure to not only save a PDF, but to carefully note all of the information about the document so that you can cite it probably, or if needed, get back to the document again. (HINT: Zotero!)
- Ask for help if you get stuck!
Digitized Collections
The library has purchased access to a number of rich digitized collections worth exploring for your paper.
- British Periodicals This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Search through hundreds of British periodicals from the late 17th century to the early 20th century, all available in full text. Also allows searching for cartoons, photographs, illustrations, and other images. Covers 1680 - 1930. - America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
This digital collection contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera published in America from 1652-1900, all full-text searchable. - ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
A collection of digitized books published in the eighteenth century, 1701 - 1800. - EEBO: Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window(1475 - 1700)
Collection of almost 100,000 early English books and tracts. - Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new windowPrimary documents in economic history from the University of London Library, Harvard Business School, Butler Library at Columbia University, and from the libraries of Yale University. Covers the period 1450 - 1850.
- 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new windowA full-text, fully searchable digital archive of nearly 1,270 newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom. Collected by the Reverend Charles Burney, this unique collection represents the largest single archive of 17th and 18th century news media available from the British Library.
- Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade DatabaseSelect the tab “Search the Voyages Database.” A left-hand column allows you to select a range of variables to limit your search.
- Avalon ProjectContains documents relating to law, economics, history, and diplomacy. Collection is browsable by topic and time period and searchable by keyword.
