Librarian
Research/IT Desk
Contact:
Contact the Reference Librarians online
reference@carleton.edu
reference@carleton.edu
507-222-4264
Subjects: General Reference
LibKey Nomad
Repositories of Published Data
-
Dryad Digital RepositoryNearly 10,000 publicly available scientific datasets.
-
Data.govThe U.S. government's open data portal. Limit by file type to locate textual data resources. Files are accessible as XML files, PDFs, HTML files, or TXT files.
-
Science.govSearches documents from all science-related agencies in the US government. A great place to look for governmental reports or research if you're not sure which agencies might be involved.
-
Harvard DataverseAn open repository hosted at Harvard in which authors can deposit their replication datasets. Includes datasets from important journals and research projects, such as American Journal of Political Science and survey organizations like Gallup.
-
WorldWideScienceLike science.gov, but international in scope. Many links do not go to the full text, but can give you some leads on which agencies and organizations might collect data.
-
University of Minnesota Data Repository - DRUMA repository of data produced at the University of Minnesota
Other sources of statistics
-
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowThis is a great starting point! The Statistical Abstract is the U.S. Census Bureau's annual collection of national (and some international) statistics. The best part of the Statistical Abstract is that each table of data includes information on who collected the data and where to find more.
-
Data.govThe U.S. government's open data portal. Limit by file type to locate textual data resources. Files are accessible as XML files, PDFs, HTML files, or TXT files.
-
United Nations Statistics DivisionInternational statistics from the United Nations.
-
FCSM: Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology (Formerly Fedstats) This link opens in a new windowLinks to statistics from more than 100 US agencies.
-
WDI: World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window900+ economic, social, health, environmental, and governance time series indicators (1960-2002) across 200 countries and 18 country groups.
-
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowSearch summaries of statistical publications, then link to the full-text of selected publications on Statistical Universe and government Web sites. This comprehensive database includes the three major statistical indexes (American Statistics Index, Statistical Reference Index, and Index to International Statistics).
-
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Gathers census statistics that were gathered in the United states from colonial times to the present.
