Research Guides: POSC 170: International Relations & World Politics: News and Current Affairs

News and Current Affairs

The resources below will connect you to international, national, and local newspapers, as well as to leading magazines such as The Economist or The Atlantic. News articles help you stay up-to-date on current affairs, allow you to track prior events as they unfolded, and can often connect you to experts on a particular topic (by following up on who an author might interview for insight on the event being covered).

New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to current New York Times. Subscription access provided through a partnership with the Carleton Student Association. First-time users will need to make an account with their Carleton credentials; faculty & staff accounts need to be every few years.
Note for existing NYTimes.com subscribers:
If you have an active paid account with the New York Times using your @carleton.edu email address, you may keep your subscription. Or, to register for our institutional subscription, you must first cancel your existing subscription -- this includes both personal subscriptions, and subscriptions from other institutions, even if it is lapsed. To cancel your subscription and switch to our institutional subscription, contact the New York Times directly at edu@nytimes.com.
Washington Post (washingtonpost.com) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to current Washington Post content going back to 2004, including access to the WaPo app. Archives searchable back through ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Click "more..." below for app signup instructions...
You can now receive Digital Subscription access provided by Carleton. Follow these steps to activate your free subscription to enjoy unlimited access to The Washington Post online and on the app.
1. Visit the signup page to sign-up with your Carleton email address. Enter your Carleton email address, agree to the Terms of Service and hit Continue. Choose a password and click create an account.
2. Click on Your Name in the upper right-hand corner
3. Click My Post
4. Once you are in My Post, click Manage Account on the right hand side.
5. Make sure your email address is Verified, if not, click “Unverified” to be sent a verification email. If your email address is already verified, you will not get this prompt.
6. Once verified, click over to the Subscription & Billing tab.
7. Click Activate free digital access
Foreign Policy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to full content of the website for Foreign Policy magazine. When off-campus, use the campus VPN for best access.

The Economist
Available online and in the 4th Floor Periodicals ("The Rookery").
The Economist Online
Full-text access to online-only articles posted to The Economist's website.

Flipster This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
With Flipster you can read the latest issues of your favorite digital magazines on any mobile device or computer. For more information, click here.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A comprehensive current news database, contains hundreds of local, regional, national, and international news sources (including the St. Paul Pioneer Press and Minneapolis Star Tribune).
ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad collection of newspaper articles published across the U.S.. Covers 1995 - current for most newspapers. An ELM Database.