LibKey Nomad
Google Scholar
Google Scholar indexes scholarly material from many publishers and databases, as well as content from author websites. You'll find scholarly articles, books, theses and dissertations, conference papers, and pamphlets.
- Google Scholar - Cited Reference Searching
This link opens in a new window
To see who has cited an article or book recently, search for the article or book in Google Scholar. Then click the "Cited by" link under the appropriate result. You can then search within the list of works that cited your original work. Sometimes you will find free PDFs by clicking on the "all x versions" links as well.
Google Scholar - General Tips
Here are some general tips to keep in mind when searching Google Scholar.
1. Be sure to set your Scholar preferences to search the Gould library database holdings to check for our access to the full text. This link is in the upper-right-hand corner of the home page.
2. To get to the full-text of articles and other items from your search results, remember to follow the links on the right-hand side of the page.
3. If you are an EndNote user, you can also set your Scholar preferences to import citations to EndNote.
Accessing Non-Carleton Full Text
Sometimes the full text of an article is available for free through Google Scholar.
- Search Google Scholar for the article.
- Look at the right-hand side of the result list. Are there links there that lead you to the full text?
- Click on the "All x Versions" link below the result for the article. Are there versions that include the full text of the article?
