Information from Scholars
- Dr. Crispin Pierce from UW-Eau ClaireDr. Pierce does research on airborne silica sand. His website has a lot of useful presentations and links.
- University of Wisconsin's Silica Sand ResearchSilica sand research done by Dr. Pierce at UW-Eau Claire.
Catalyst
Catalyst will connect you to thousands of articles on silica sand mining, including from newspapers around the country.
Industry and Business Research
Private company information can be hard to obtain but these sources will provide some information, enable you to get articles from trade publications and industry profiles, which provide you with the "big picture." (Government documents are also a good source of industry information.)
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Database of business trade and scholarly publications. Either search for articles, or find industry profiles by scrolling down on the search page and limiting by publication and document types. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Click on the "Companies" box below the main search by clicking on the arrow to open up the menu.
Political and Social Science Research
Search these political science, social science, and broad cross-disciplinary indexes for scholarly articles to place this case in context. Remember to search using broad concept terms. Learn the scholarly conversation surrounding these issues and understand the debates. How to get started?
- Start with a research review from Annual Review of Political Science or a scholarly book in the library.
- Follow some of the critical authors mentioned in the notes and bibliographies of these books and articles.
- Do a cited reference search in Google Scholar (look at the "cited by" hyperlink) or Social Sciences Citation Index.
- Then, search for articles in one of the databases recommended here or the Political Science Research Guide.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
This is the core disciplinary index to political science journal articles. Broad coverage of political science along with complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration & policy. Covers 1975 - present. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Use Google's special academic search to locate scholarly articles. On campus, the preferences are set to indicate the Library's full-text access to what you find (links on the right). Use the "cited by" hyperlink to observe trends and uncover more scholarship relevant to your topic.
Citizens' Organizations
These websites are often rich sources for research because they have lists of links and bibiliographies.
- List of MN Frac Sand Grassroots WebsitesThis is an open source list maintained online with 72 organizations listed as of now.
- EarthworksThis environmental organization has articles and reports on silica sand. Do a site search or browse the library.
- Environment Minnesota: The Cost of FrackingA special report.
- SandPoint TimesA website maintained by the Houston County Protectors, citizens concerned about silica sand mining in SE Minnesota.
