LGBT Resources for Undergrads
Sometimes the best resources for undergraduate assignments on LGBT topics are not specialized ones, but rather contained within mainstream publications and collections.
Common research resources like the Census or collections within large university archives have a lot of information about LGBT issues. These are often available to everyone on the web or at public libraries, meaning there are plenty of ways to do LGBT research beyond big university libraries. For instance...
Expert Guides
There are many research guides published by librarians and other experts on LGTB issues, general topics and specialized topics like the law. Here are just a few examples.
- NYU Sexuality and Gender Studies LibguideThis is one example of an academic research guide for LGBT studies. There are many, many more of these guides. Try Googling: [libguide sexuality gender] or [libguide LGBT].
International Organizations
- Human Rights Education AssociatesThis site provides handy information about actions and involvement of international organizations in LGBT rights.
Government Documents
Just a sampling of where to search for LGBT government documents. For a broader swath, search Google: [gay lesbian inurl:gov], for example.
- GovInfo (formerly FDsys)The Government Publishing Office's publication platform for digital copies of documents across all three branches of government.
- LGBT Pride MonthGateway of resources and collections curated by the Library of Congress.
- CDC - LGBT HealthResources and statistics.
- Congress.gov This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Congressional Record and other Congressional documents.
Surveys
- GayData.orgThis website compiles data sources that include questions on sexual orientation. Created by Dr. Randall Sell and maintained by the Program for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Health at Drexel University, School of Public Health.
- Census: Same Sex CouplesCompilation of Census data on same sex couples.
- General Social Survey (GSS): SDA ArchiveThis is the link to online data analysis for these two major social surveys which include questions about sexual identity and attitudes.
University Archives
Beyond well-known LGBT archives, a number of universities and libraries have major LGBT collections. For example:
- NYPL Gay and Lesbian and AIDS/HIV CollectionsIncludes ACT UP Oral History project videotapes, International Gay Information Center archives, and many individual's collections.
- The Jean-Nickolaus Tretter Collection in Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender StudiesAt the University of Minnesota. Over 30,000 items in various media.
- Gay and Lesbian Archive of Mid-America (GLAMA)"A partnership between the Kansas City Museum and the LaBudde Special Collections of the Miller Nichols Library at the University of Missouri - Kansas City to collect, preserve, and make accessible the documents and artifacts that reflect the history of the gay and lesbian community of the Kansas City region."
Newspapers
LGBT newspapers are included in this database, available from many libraries.
