Librarian
Sean Leahy
Contact:
4th Libe - Room 465
507-222-5179
smleahy@carleton.edu
507-222-5179
smleahy@carleton.edu
Subjects: Anthropology, Astronomy, Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Cognitive Science, Computer Science, Economics, Education, Environmental Studies, Geology, International Relations, Mathematics, Neuroscience, Physical Education, Athletics, and Recreation (PEAR), Physics, Political Economy, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Sociology/Anthropology, Statistics, Theater & Dance
Looking for Articles
Tip #1:
Usually, it's helpful to start a search trying out lots of synonyms for your topic. Then, narrow your search using the precise subject terms each database uses to sort its articles into categories.
Tip #2:
A great way to find articles is to use the bibliographies and references from a good book or article you already find useful.
Search Catalyst
You can use Catalyst to search for articles as well as books.
All Formats
Suggested Journals
- Scientific AmericanClick on the link, "search within this publication", or browse the issues from the links on the right.
- Bulletin of the Atomic ScientistsSuggestion: use the advanced search.
Where to Search for Articles
Search for scholarly articles in library databases. Here are some suggested databases to get started.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
These are literature reviews from different disciplines. A literature review is very useful when you are getting started with your own research project. - ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
This tool searches across the AGRICOLA, ESPM, and EIS databases, and it provides full-text titles from around the world. It includes scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. Covers 1960-current. - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from across the sciences. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from across the sciences and social sciences. Also useful for the "cited reference" searching. Click on the "times cited" hyperlink underneath each article to follow citations.
