Subject Guide
Latin America Readers (series)
The Latin America Readers (13 JSTOR ebooks)Call Number: Online & paper booksMore info in Catalyst about ebooks and paper books...
Contains 13 of 17 Latin America Readers [primary sources translated into English]: Bolivia - Brazil - Chile - Colombia - Cuba - Dominican Republic - Ecuador - Guatemala - Haiti - Jamaica - Lima - Paraguay - Rio de Janeiro
The Argentina Reader by Call Number: Online & F2810 .A646 2002ISBN: 9780822328858Publication Date: 2002-12-25
The Costa Rica Reader by Call Number: ONLINE & F1546 .C765 2004ISBN: 9780822333722Publication Date: 2004-10-29
The Mexico Reader by Call Number: ONLINE & F1226 .M53 2002ISBN: 0822330423Publication Date: 2003-01-16
The Peru Reader by Call Number: ONLINE & F3431 .P478 2005ISBN: 9780822336495Publication Date: 2005-12-14
- The Latin America readersLooking for paper? In Catalyst you can find many of these Readers also available on our shelves.
Digitized Collections
- ProQuest History Vault This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Fully searchable, digitized archival collections having to do with American history. Includes: Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Europe and Latin America, 1960-1969 - Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A comprehensive set of declassified government documents, 1942-current. Includes primary sources about US (CIA, State Department) involvement across Latin America, including Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Guatemala, El Salvador, Mexico, Nicaragua, Peru, and other countries. - PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.
- National Security Archive at George Washington University"Founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents..."
- National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Books"The National Security Archive's continually growing collection of Electronic Briefing Books (EBBs) provide timely online access to critical declassified records on issues including U.S. national security, foreign policy, diplomatic and military history, intelligence policy, and much more. Updated frequently, the EBBs represent just a small sample of the documents in our published and unpublished collections."
- Wilson Center Digital ArchiveDeclassified international documents
- Declassified U.S. Documentation on Human Rights Abuses and Political ViolenceNational Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book No. 64
Edited by Tamara Feinstein
Director, Peru Documentation Project
January 22, 2002 - Civil War, Society and Political Transition in Guatemala : the Guatemala News and Information Bureau Archive (1963-2000)Thousands of documents from the Guatemala News and Information Bureau (GNIB) covering the period 1963-2000. Also a collection from the Princeton University Libraries.
- Latin American Poster CollectionDigitized collection of posters from the Princeton University Library's Latin American ephemera collection.
- Human Rights Web ArchiveProject of the Center for Human Rights Documentation and Research at Columbia University. Archived copies of human rights organization web sites since 2008.
News and Media
- Readex AllSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search across all of Carleton's Readex collections at once. Includes historical newspapers, government documents, books, ephemera, and the like. - World News Connection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Translated and English-language news and information. Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources from around the world. Covers 1995-2013. - ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad collection of newspaper articles published across the U.S.. Covers 1995 - current for most newspapers. An ELM Database.
Search CRL
The Center for Research Libraries has a number of microfilmed collections, international newspapers, and official documents from countries outside the U.S.
- CRL: Center For Research Libraries This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
This collection includes microfilm for foreign newspapers and foreign dissertations. You may borrow microfilm reels and other materials through Interlibrary Loan.
- CRL Topic GuidesEach guide includes a short writeup on the landscape of the field of study, links to relevant primary source collections at CRL, and links out to related sources.
- FOCUS on Global Resources (CRL Newsletter)CRL's quarterly newsletter with themed issues.
