Skip to Main Content

Gould Library staff continue our commitment to support the teaching and research needs of the Carleton community. Information on remote access to library resources and services will be updated regularly on the Remote Resources and Guidance for Library Users page and this FAQ. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need additional assistance.

ECON 270: Economics of the Public Sector

For Professor Jenny Bourne - Spring 2022

Recommended Databases for Economics of the Public Sector

A complete list of indexes and databases is available through the Library's home page under the Databases tab.

Interpreting "Find It" Results (2022)

Scholarly journals are going to be found, in most cases, either online or in print.

Searching Catalyst and using the Find It button are the best ways to determine what kind of subscription the library has and how to get your hands (or eyes, as the case may be) on it.

Find It Button

Following are explanations of the different results you'll get using the Find It button.

 

Instant Electronic Access

When you click the "Find It!" button, you will be taken to a record for the article in Catalyst. That record will tell you whether this is available electronically, in print, both, or neither. If it is available, you will see a message "Online Access" near the top of the page.

Screenshot of a Catalyst article with online access

Click the Online Access button and you should be taken straight to the article. 

If it doesn't work or you want to find other options, scroll down to see the electronic options for that article...

Screenshot of Online Access options for an article

Follow a link and you'll be taken to the article.

 

Print Journals

If the library subscribes in print, you need to find the call number for the journal in Catalyst. Then go to the moving stacks on the 3rd floor of the library where the journals are. Catalyst shows the call number so you know where to find it on 3rd Libe.

Screenshot of print locations in Catalyst

If the print copy is only at St. Olaf, log in to Catalyst, then click the St. Olaf Library entry to expand it. Find the issue you need, then click the Request link to have the journal sent over to Carleton, where you can pick it up at the Circulation Desk.

Screenshot of request option for print items at St. Olaf via Catalyst

 

Carleton Doesn't Subscribe

If Carleton doesn't subscribe to the journal for the issue you need, make a request through Interlibrary Loan.

Screenshot of an article not in the collection in Catalyst
 

Screenshot example of Catalyst signal to request via ILL

 

 

Find the Full Text

In indexes where there is no full text, remember to check the Find It Button , or search the Journals List and/or Catalyst to see whether Carleton or St. Olaf subscribes to the journals online or in print.

Scholarly and/or peer-reviewed?

If you are looking only for scholarly and/or peer-reviewed journals, how can you tell?

Look up the title in Ulrich's (link below).  Ulrich's is the authoritative source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types — academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the world.  It specifically states if a journal is academic [under "document type"] and if it is peer-reviewed [under "Refereed"].

Search Catalyst

You can use Catalyst to search for articles as well as books.

All Formats

"A Bit of Everything" Databases