LibKey Nomad
Remote Access
Remember!
Reading secondary sources can often lead you to great Primary Sources. Follow the bibliographies!
Primary Sources by Genre
Tip:
Short stories are often published in anthologies and not listed separately in the catalog. Try doing a keyword search for the short story title (put quotation marks around the whole title) in Catalyst. If that doesn't work, try doing it again in Google Books or even just plain old Google. See if you can find the name of the book your story was published in and then see if we have that book here in the library.
Digital collections that include prose fiction:
- American Fiction, 1774-1920 This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Encompasses more than 17,500 works of prose fiction written by Americans from the political beginnings of the United States through World War I. - America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary documents that cover every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America. Includes the ability to search only the novels or novellas in the collection. - American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A digitized collection of American magazines and journals, 1740-1920. - British Literary Manuscripts Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and abstracts)
A digital archive of manuscripts from approximately 1120 to 1900. Includes letters, poems, stories, plays, chronicles, religious writings, and other materials from authors such as Chaucer, Shakespeare, Dickens, Charlotte Brontë, Swift, Wilde, and many others. - British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
British Periodicals traces the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals' and beyond. After you have done a search, click "article type" on the right-hand side of the screen and select "Fiction/Narrative." - ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A collection of digitized books published in the eighteenth century, 1701 - 1800. - EEBO: Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A collection of early English books and tracts, 1475 - 1700. - English Short Title Catalog This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
Search for publications produced between 1473 and 1800 in English speaking countries. - HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and digitally accessible. A major source of digitized books and other documents. Some of the collection if available for free to all, and additional content is available to Carleton faculty, staff, and students. - LION: Literature Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search through the full text of British, American, and Canadian literature, poetry, and drama, from the 7th century through the 20th century. Also includes audio versions of Shakespeare's plays.
- Luminarium
- This link opens in a new window
Reproductions and research material covering the Medieval through Restoration periods of British literature.
- Middle English Compendium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to three of the major Middle English resources used in the field: The Middle English Dictionary, the HyperBibliography, and the Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse. - NCCO: Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A rich collection of primary sources created or published in the nineteenth century. - Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A massive collection of out-of-copyright books, transcribed and downloadable in multiple formats. Free for anyone to use. - Women Writers Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search through the texts by pre-Victorian women writers, 1400-1850.
TIPS:
- If you're looking for a book of poetry, search by the title of the book, not the poem.
- Poetry is usually published in anthologies or in literary journals, so titles of individual poems are not listed separately in the catalog. Try doing a keyword search for the poem title (put quotation marks around the whole title) in Catalyst or WorldCat. If that doesn't work, try doing it again in Google Books or even just plain old Google. See if you can find the name of the book your story was published in and then see if we have that book here in the library.
- If your poem was published in a literary journal, seach for that journal's name here to see if we have access to the issue you need.
There is also a wonderful bibliography of resources for finding English verse compiled by James Woolley here (PDF).
Digital collections that include poetry
- America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary documents that cover every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America. Includes the ability to search only the poems in the collection. - American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A digitized collection of American magazines and journals, 1740-1920. - British Literary Manuscripts Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and abstracts)
A digital archive of manuscripts from approximately 1120 to 1900. Includes letters, poems, stories, plays, chronicles, religious writings, and other materials from authors such as Chaucer, Shakespeare, Dickens, Charlotte Brontë, Swift, Wilde, and many others. - British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
British Periodicals traces the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals' and beyond. After you have done a search, click "article type" on the right-hand side of the screen and select "poetry." - LION: Literature Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search through the full text of British, American, and Canadian literature, poetry, and drama, from the 7th century through the 20th century. Also includes audio versions of Shakespeare's plays.
- Union First Lines Index of Manuscript Poetry
- This link opens in a new window
Search for first lines of manuscript poetry written between the 13th and the 19th centuries.
Tip:
In your Catalyst search result list, go to the "Genre/Form" limiter on the left and select "Drama." This won't gather all of the plays in our collection, but it will be a good way to start exploring plays.
Digital collections that include plays:
- America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary documents that cover every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America. Includes the ability to search only the plays in the collection. - Asian American Drama This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection begins with playwrights from the late 19th century and progresses to the writings of contemporary playwrights, with detailed info on related productions, theaters, and more. - British Literary Manuscripts Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and abstracts)
A digital archive of manuscripts from approximately 1120 to 1900. Includes letters, poems, stories, plays, chronicles, religious writings, and other materials from authors such as Chaucer, Shakespeare, Dickens, Charlotte Brontë, Swift, Wilde, and many others. - ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes some plays (such as 18th century adaptations of Shakespeare's plays). - LION: Literature Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search through the full text of British, American, and Canadian literature, poetry, and drama, from the 7th century through the 20th century. Also includes audio versions of Shakespeare's plays. - Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A massive collection of out-of-copyright books, transcribed and downloadable in multiple formats. Free for anyone to use.
TIPS:
- Search for titles or for the last names of directors.
- Limit your results to DVDs or online video using the "Material Type" section on the left-hand side of Catalyst.
Digital video collections
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive streaming video collection including documentaries, newsreels, theater, musical performances, and much more from across the disciplines. - Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and abstracts)
View video recordings of contemporary British theater productions, including those by the Royal Shakespeare Company. Using the Chrome browser is recommended for best playback. - Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and transcripts)
A large collection of streaming videos covering all academic disciplines. - Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A streaming video platform of current and classic documentaries and feature films.
