Librarian
LibKey Nomad
Digitized Documents & Collections
- The Review of reviews (London)Call Number: (online)Publication Date: 1890-1919An aggregated collection of news summaries, geared toward readers living abroad in the British Colonies. Read some of the early articles from Volume 1 to get an idea of what this periodical is about and why it was useful. Covers 1890 - 1919.
- FBIS: Foreign Broadcast Information Service This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from around the globe, 1941 - 1996. - Readex AllSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes historical newspapers, government documents, books, ephemera, and the like -- such as FBIS/JPRS and other primary source collections. - Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search across newspapers and digitized collections of primary sources from the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries, including ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online, NCCO: Nineteenth Century Collections Online, The Making of the Modern World, The Times of London, The Illustrated London News, the Times Literary Supplement, The Economist, and many more. Covers 1604 - present (varying by source). - PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories from public affairs professionals and scholars. Back to the 1910s.
- Foreign Relations of the United States (UW Digitization Project)"The Foreign Relations of the United States series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. The series is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian and printed volumes are available from the Government Printing Office. FRUS begins with the administration of Abraham Lincoln in 1861."
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and digitally accessible. A major source of digitized books and other documents. Some of the collection if available for free to all, and additional content is available to Carleton faculty, staff, and students.
Search A Library Catalog
Online catalogs contain records for books, periodicals, and newspapers, and other materials that serve as primary sources for historical research. Three strategies.
1. Conduct author searches in Catalyst and WorldCat for people, institutions, and organizations important to your topic.
- Author: Tanganyika. Secretariat. gives us Census of the native population of Tanganyika territory, 1931.
- Author: Swann, Alfred James gives us Fighting the Slave-Hunters in Central Africa a Record of Twenty-Six Years of Travel & Adventure Round the Great Lakes
2. Conduct word searches in Catalyst and WorldCat combining terms that describe your topic with LCSH terms that typically indicate something was published as a primary source, like any of the following words: correspondence, diaries, pamphlets, personal narrative, sources, "description and travel."
- Keywords: "Tanzania" and sources
3. Search for your topic by subject or word, then limit your search or sort your search results by publication date to find those that were produced during the era in which you are interested
- Subject:
Africa, East > Description and travel.
Pemba (Tanzania) > Description and travel.
Translating older place names
Not sure where Tabropane was? Try these methods for translating...
1. Look in a catalog or reference book
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
Search for library materials, especially books, that Carleton may not have. You can include searches for articles if desired. When you find something you want, order it through ILL by clicking on the "Request item through InterLibrary Loan" link.
Merriam-Webster's Geographical Dictionary by ISBN: 0877795460Publication Date: 2001Includes historical place names.
- Britannica Online Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Includes the Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year.
The World Almanac and Book of Facts by Call Number: REF AY67.N5 W7 and OnlineISBN: 9781600572067Publication Date: 2016Availability and more information from Catalyst...
2. Look at old maps
- David Rumsey Historical Map Collection (browse)Includes maps from the 14th - 21st centuries, covering all parts of the glob in multiple levels of granularity. Many historical maps have been georeferenced.
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map CollectionIncludes digitized historical maps from around the world.
- CATALYST SEARCH: Historical atlasesYou may want to narrow by geographic region, or online resource, etc.
3. (Advanced) Search Name Authority Files
- LC Name Authority FilesIncludes personal names and geographical areas, as used by the Library of Congress in the United States. Many entries includes alternative spellings, alternative romanizations, and older forms of the names.
- Virtual International Authority FileIncludes vocabulary from libraries around the world; has many alternate spellings and translations.
- WikipediaA great place to look for common misspellings and alternate romanizations!
