Librarian
Research/IT Desk
Contact:
Contact the Reference Librarians online
reference@carleton.edu
reference@carleton.edu
507-222-4264
Subjects: General Reference
LibKey Nomad
Getting Started, Gathering Context, Building a Bibliography
-
Encyclopedia of Arabic Literature
Call Number: Reference : PJ7510 .E53 1998Availability and more information from Catalyst... -
Oxford Bibliographies: Islamic Studies
Particularly useful for those beginning their study in a field, OBO brings together key literature on a topic from top scholars in the field with the goal of giving a "guided tour" through the literature that includes context and a balanced overview. -
New Cambridge History of Islam (6 vols, 2010)
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780521838238Scholarly essays about key historical events. Includes Volume 6, Muslims and Modernity: Culture and Society since 1800. -
Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics
Call Number: REF JP6031 .E53 and OnlineAvailability and more information from Catalyst... -
Encyclopedia of Islam
Call Number: Reference: DS37 .E523 and OnlineSearch the second and third editions as well as the Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World. -
New Cambridge History of Islam (6 vols, 2010)
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780521838238Scholarly essays about key historical events. Includes Volume 6, Muslims and Modernity: Culture and Society since 1800.
-
Dictionary of the Middle Ages byCall Number: Ref D114.D5 1982, Oversize D114 .D5 1982ISBN: 0684190737Publication Date: 1989-04-01Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Contrary to its name, this work is actually a 12 volume encyclopedia covering the Western and Eastern Europe, Asia Minor, and Muslim-Christian North Africa from 500-1500 C.E. Although somewhat dated, it can still be useful. -
Medieval Iberia: an encyclopedia
by
Call Number: Reference : DP99 .M33 2003Availability and more information from Catalyst... -
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
by
Call Number: [online]ISBN: 9780198662624Publication Date: 2010-07-29Covers all key aspects of European history, society, and culture from 500 to 1500 A.D., as well as the Byzantine Empire, Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples of the era
