Librarian
Scholarship
- European Studies databasesA list of all Carleton databases with European Studies content.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Collects the full-text of English language journals, books and other sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
The primary place to find scholarship on world history. (For U.S. and Canadian History, use America: History and Life). Covers publications from 1955 - present. - Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
This is the core disciplinary index to political science journal articles. Broad coverage of political science along with complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration & policy. Covers 1975 - present. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Most journals are included from their first issue until 5 years ago. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches through citations, subject headings, and some abstracts
The premier database for linguistics and literary studies, this index includes articles, dissertations, books, book chapters, and more. Covers 1926 - current. - ABSEEES: American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union from journals, books, dissertations, and more. Subjects include: anthropology, culture and the arts, economics, education, and geography. Covers 1939 - current.
Not getting the results you want?
Try searching with these specific phrases:
Events:
- World War, 1914-1918
- World War, 1939-1945
Country names:
- Great Britain = United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, which comprises England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales, as well as the island of Great Britain
- Ireland = Republic of Ireland and the island of the British Isles called Ireland
- British Isles = The non-jurisdictional island group comprising the islands of Great Britain, Ireland, and smaller adjacent islands
Classes of people:
- Immigrants = foreign-born persons who enter a country intending to become permanent residents or citizens
- Internal migrants = persons who change their place of residence from one locality to another within the borders of a single country
- Emigrants from a particular place = add nationality of origin of the emigrant group and the place to which they have immigrated, e.g. Chinese--United States; Americans--Foreign countries
- Illegal immigrants / Illegal aliens / Undocumented immigrants = This is a controversial subject heading, but currently Congress requires that libraries in the United States catalog material about undocumented immigrants using the term "Illegal aliens."
Books about Europe in the Libe
Books on Europe and countries within Europe will be in many different sections of the library, but particularly in the call number ranges DA - DR (History) and JN (Political Science).
