Librarian
What is a primary source?
There's no one thing, but for historians, it's generally something that was created at the time of the event. Try searching using terms like: biography [also use for autobiographies], newspapers, "personal papers" [use for archival material], correspondence [use for letters], personal diaries, photographs, videos, interviews, pamphlets, artwork, sources [a common one!], and many other types of things!
Other collections
- Databases with European Studies Historical DocumentsMany of Carleton's databases have primary source content from and about Europe.
- CRL: Center For Research Libraries This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
This collection includes microfilm for foreign newspapers and foreign dissertations. You may borrow microfilm reels and other materials through Interlibrary Loan. - Europeana This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
A large collections with artworks, artifacts, books, videos and sounds from across Europe. Has filters for Open Licenses. - ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
An index of archival finding aids and collection descriptions from archives, libraries, and museums. Does not include the archival material itself, but helps reveal what material would be available at the archives.
