Research Guides: POSC 224: Political Campaigns & Electoral Behavior: Scholarly Journals

LibKey Nomad

Looking for Articles

Tip: Usually, it's helpful to start a search trying out lots of synonyms for your topic. Then, narrow your search using the precise classifications (or subject headings) each database uses to sort its articles into categories.

Political Science and International Relations

The following are core databases (electronic indexes) of political science journal articles.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is the core disciplinary index to political science journal articles, so you should include WPSA in your search. Broad coverage of political science along with complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles in this collection offer comprehensive summaries of the state of research on topics from many disciplines in the sciences and social sciences, including Anthropology, Sociology and Political Science. Covers 1997 - current.

The Advanced Search allows you to select the publications you want to search. For example,if you want to find articles only from the field of sociology, type “sociology” into the “Published in” search box, and the system will pull up the title for Annual Review of Sociology for you. You can select multiple publications to search. The main search box (“Enter search term here”) allows you to search all editions of Annual Reviews.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online archive of 100+ full-text Political Science journals. Remember that when you search JSTOR, you're searching the full text of the articles in the archive not just the abstracts and titles. Also remember that most publishers do not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of the journals deposited here.
PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.

Journals

These are some of the core Political Science journals you might find relevant to your search. Keep in mind, however, that this list is simply to get you started and the important journals will vary depending on your topic.

Locate the full text of a journal using the Gould Library A-Z List.

General American Politics Journals

CQ Magazine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Political Behavior & Electoral Studies Journals

Social Sciences

Your topic may be covered in other disciplinary databases so here are some suggested places to look.

EconLit This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Key index to economics journal articles, books, dissertations and working papers. Content includes both economic theory and application. Covers 1969 - current.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International. Indexes many political science and international relations journals.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Main index to research in sociology, anthropology, and related fields in the social and behavioral sciences. Covers 1963 - current.

World Bank Open Knowledge Repository
- This link opens in a new window
The World Banks has opened access to its many important articles and books. Many of these are excellent resources for Political Science topics. Be sure to check it out.

Interdisciplinary

Search broad, interdisciplinary databases in order to find articles from areas in which you might not have thought to look.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use Google's special academic search to locate scholarly articles from across disciplines. On campus, the preferences are set to indicate the Library's full-text access to what you find (links on the right). Use the "cited by" hyperlink to observe trends and uncover more scholarship relevant to your topic.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Contains scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines from across the disciplines and from popular culture. Much of the content is available in full text. An ELM Database.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad, multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary search tool. Covers 1973 - current.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use SSCI to do *cited reference searching* -- to track the number of times an article or author has been cited or referenced in other works. SSCI indexes 2,700 journals across 50 social science disciplines.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 400 humanities and social sciences titles. Limit by title or discipline. This index and archive is a good place to search across disciplines and for theory titles, as well.

Bibliography of Data-Related Literature (ICPSR)
Continuously updated bibliography of scholarly articles that use ICPSR data. If you are using one of their datasets, look here for literature you should know about.