Research Guides: Digital Text Analysis and Text Mining: Analyzing the Text

LibKey Nomad

There are many tools that can help you analyze your text. Here are a few that we use most frequently here at Carleton.

A guide to Voyant written here at Carleton
A guide to analysis tools in Voyant that are most commonly used here at Carleton. Written by Digital Humanities Associate Aaron Young '20.
Voyant Tutorial
Voyant instructions in the Gould Data Knowledge Base
Voyant Tools Documentation - by Voyant
It is particularly useful to read through the descriptions of each Voyant tool so that you know what it's doing and how it presents information.

Tableau Public
Data visualization app uses xls and csv files. Allows you to share visualizations via social media and view other data visualizations made by other authors.
Tableau Instructions for Carleton People
Information from ITS for students and faculty for how to get free access to Tableau

HathiTrust Digital Library
(Searches through citations and the full text)
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and digitally accessible. A major source of digitized books and other documents. Some of the collection if available for free to all, and additional content is available to Carleton faculty, staff, and students.

Video tutorial: How to create a Collection in HathiTrust and import it into HathiTrust Research Center (HTRC)
The main HTRC Workset Tutorials wiki contains written text instructions, plus other videos and instructions. You can use an existing collection, or create a new one of your own. Note that any documents labeled as coming from Google scanning will not be available through the API. Other text analysis may still be possible depending on what you want to do.

HathiTrust Research Center Analytics (HTRC)
Run queries on large collections of material in within HathiTrust Digital Library. Find tutorials and more information about the algorithms you can run on collections on the HTRC wiki.
Video Tutorial: How to validate volumes in a HTRC Workset
The main HTRC Workset Tutorials wiki contains written text instructions, plus other videos and instructions.
How to run a text analysis algorithm in HTRC
A series of screenshots and instructions for how to run a text analysis algorithm on an existing Workset in HTRC. The main HTRC Workset Tutorials wiki contains written text instructions, plus other videos and instructions.
HathiTrust Research Center Analytics (HTRC) Step by Step tutorials
Includes instructions on how to use some of the most common features of HTRC, like creating a Workset and running an Algorithm. Requires no programming knowledge.

Text Mining in Python through the HTRC Feature Reader (Programming Historian)
Explains how to use Python to summarize and visualize data on millions of texts from the HathiTrust Research Center’s Extracted Features dataset.
PythonAnywhere
Allows basic python coding from the cloud, no need for servers. For most text analysis uses, the free "Beginner" account is sufficient.
Calibre: Ebook Management
Powerful free tool for reading and working with ebooks. Note their documentation on converting ebooks to plain text.

Recogito
No coding required. Work on texts and images. Identify and mark named entities. Use your data in other tools or connect to other data on the Web. Without the need to learn code.
AntConc Tutorial
Overview Tutorial
Concordle Tutorial
PythonAnywhere
Allows basic python coding from the cloud, no need for servers. For most text analysis uses, the free "Beginner" account is sufficient.
Bookworm
For the advanced user! Bookworm is open-source software for visualizing trends in texts.
Digital Scholar Workbench (beta)
On-campus or VPN access only.
Beta tool from ITHAKA to perform textual analysis on JSTOR, Portico, and Artstor.