Databases with built-in Collection Analysis
- Gale Digital Scholar Lab This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Tool for collecting data sets comprised of content from the subscribing institution's Gale Primary Sources subscriptions. Analyze data sets using text analysis and visualization tools built in. Digital humanities analysis methods include: Named Entity Recognition, Topic Modelling, Parts of Speech, and more.
Note: Need to create an individual login to use. Visit the Learning Center for videos and more info - HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and digitally accessible. A major source of digitized books and other documents. Some of the collection if available for free to all, and additional content is available to Carleton faculty, staff, and students.
- HathiTrust Research Center Analytics (HTRC)Run queries on large collections of material in within HathiTrust. Find tutorials and more information about the algorithms you can run on collections on the HTRC wiki.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search across newspapers and digitized collections of primary sources from the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries, including ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online, NCCO: Nineteenth Century Collections Online, The Making of the Modern World, The Times of London, The Illustrated London News, the Times Literary Supplement, The Economist, and many more. Covers 1604 - present (varying by source). - Native American Indians, 1645-1819 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Every major book printed in North America about Native Peoples (1645-1819), including more than 1,600 publications about the relationship between Native Americans and European settlers, featuring text exploration tools, author biographies, and suggested search paths for easy browsing and discovery.
- Google's Ngram ViewerHow often have words appeared in the books digitized by Google?
HathiTrust Text Analysis
1) Start by finding and saving collections of documents you wish to analyze
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and digitally accessible. A major source of digitized books and other documents. Some of the collection if available for free to all, and additional content is available to Carleton faculty, staff, and students.
- Video tutorial: How to create a Collection in HathiTrust and import it into HathiTrust Research Center (HTRC)The main HTRC Workset Tutorials wiki contains written text instructions, plus other videos and instructions. You can use an existing collection, or create a new one of your own. Note that any documents labeled as coming from Google scanning will not be available through the API. Other text analysis may still be possible depending on what you want to do.
2) Analyze your HathiTrust documents using HTRC Analytics.
- HathiTrust Research Center Analytics (HTRC)Run queries on large collections of material in within HathiTrust. Find tutorials and more information about the algorithms you can run on collections on the HTRC wiki.
- Video Tutorial: How to validate volumes in a HTRC WorksetThe main HTRC Workset Tutorials wiki contains written text instructions, plus other videos and instructions.
- How to run a text analysis algorithm in HTRCA series of screenshots and instructions for how to run a text analysis algorithm on an existing Workset in HTRC. The main HTRC Workset Tutorials wiki contains written text instructions, plus other videos and instructions.
- HathiTrust Research Center Analytics (HTRC) Step by Step tutorialsIncludes instructions on how to use some of the most common features of HTRC, like creating a Workset and running an Algorithm. Requires no programming knowledge.
3) You may also need Python or Calibre, depending on which analytics you want to run and what text conversions you need to make
- Text Mining in Python through the HTRC Feature Reader (Programming Historian)Explains how to use Python to summarize and visualize data on millions of texts from the HathiTrust Research Center’s Extracted Features dataset.
- PythonAnywhereAllows basic python coding from the cloud, no need for servers. For most text analysis uses, the free "Beginner" account is sufficient.
- Calibre: Ebook ManagementPowerful free tool for reading and working with ebooks. Note their documentation on converting ebooks to plain text.
