Librarian
LibKey Nomad
Archaeology databases
- Archaeology database best bets
This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive list of databases for Archaeology
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Indexes journal articles on architecture and design, including the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Covers 1934 - current. - GeoRef This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
The place to start to find Geology literature. GeoRef has articles, conference proceedings, maps, reports, and dissertations. Take a look at the thesaurus if you're having trouble finding good keywords. Covers publications from 1785 - present. - L'Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to the literature about Greco-Roman archaeology, history, law, linguistics and literature, philosophy, and science and technology from the 2nd millennium BCE to 800 CE. Covers publications from 1924 to one year ago. - National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-2015 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A full-color, searchable collection of archived issue of National Geographic Magazine. More info on newer issues in Catalyst.
- Archaeological Data Services Gray Literature IndexINDEX ONLY. The ADS Library brings together material from the British and Irish Archaeological Bibliography (BIAB), the ADS library of unpublished fieldwork reports as well as documents from the ADS archives and archaeological publishers such as Oxbow.
Social sciences databases
- IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Includes bibliographic references to international journal articles and books, reviews and selected book chapters. Covers 1951-current. - Anthropological Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Allows you to discover international scholarly work in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Covers late 19th century - current - AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Contains the full-text of the journals, newsletters, and bulletins of the American Anthropological Association (AAA). Covers 1960 - current. - Aluka: Stuggles for Freedom: Southern Africa This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
An online digital library of documents and other primary sources that chronicles the independence movements of southern African nations. - Aluka: World Heritage Sites: Africa This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
An online digital library of scholarly resources that explores the archaeology, history and culture of Africa through its heritage sites and landscapes. - Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles in this collection offer comprehensive summaries of the state of research on topics from many disciplines in the sciences and social sciences, including Anthropology, Sociology and Political Science. Covers 1997 - current.
General databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Most journals are included from their first issue until 5 years ago. - JSTOR (Alumni Access) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Log in using your Carleton Alumni username and password. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Use Google's special academic search to locate scholarly articles from across disciplines. On campus, the preferences are set to indicate the Library's full-text access to what you find (links on the right). Use the "cited by" link to see who has cited a particular work you're interested in. - Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Contains scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines from across the disciplines and from popular culture. Much of the content is available in full text. An ELM Database. - ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad, multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary search tool. Covers 1973 - current. - Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Collects the full-text of English language journals, books and other sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search through the full text of key books and journals from across the disciplines, with emphasis on recent scholarship. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A vast index of literature from the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Also offers cited reference searching to see who has cited a particular document. 1898 - current.
