Librarian
Research/IT Desk
Contact:
Contact the Reference Librarians online
reference@carleton.edu
reference@carleton.edu
507-222-4264
Librarian
Research/IT Desk
Contact:
Contact the Reference Librarians online
reference@carleton.edu
reference@carleton.edu
507-222-4264
Strategies for book searching using Catalyst
There are many ways to locate books that are relevant to your research topic:
- Search for books by doing a simple KEYWORD search in Catalyst (in the search box above). Enter words that describe your topic (names, places, events, etc.).
- When you find a book on your topic, examine its subject headings for relevance to your topic. Click on a hyperlinked subject heading to perform a subject heading search.
- Conduct a virtual browse at the very bottom of a book record in Catalyst, to discover related titles.
- You can also look at the bibliography of books you have already identified as useful.
- You can also use the advanced search box below to search by subject.
Advanced Search
Online Catalogs
- Catalyst This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search the collections of Carleton and St. Olaf College libraries. - WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
Search for library materials, especially books, that Carleton may not have. You can include searches for articles if desired. When you find something you want, order it through ILL by clicking on the "Request item through InterLibrary Loan" link. - Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Full text electronic books on scholarly and popular topics, readable online or downloadable to your mobile device. Here is more information on using Ebook Central - HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and digitally accessible. A major source of digitized books and other documents. Some of the collection if available for free to all, and additional content is available to Carleton faculty, staff, and students. - Google Books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search the world's most comprehensive index of full-text books. - Overdrive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some abstracts)
A collection of popular fiction and non-fiction ebooks, readable online or downloadable to your mobile device on the Libby app. Read more about using OverDrive. - Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A massive collection of out-of-copyright books, transcribed and downloadable in multiple formats. Free for anyone to use.
Subject Headings
These are examples to get you started.
- Archaeology
- Archeology
- Anthropology
- Archaeological significance
- Architecture and archaeology
- Excavations (Archaeology)
- Mounds
- Protohistory
- Pyramids
- Virtual reality in archaeology
Interlibrary Loan
- Interlibrary LoanInterLibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that allows Carleton students, staff, and faculty to request items that Carleton and St. Olaf do not own from other libraries.
