Librarian
Isabela Oliveira
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
4th Libe - Room 467
507-222-5304
ioliveira@carleton.edu
507-222-5304
ioliveira@carleton.edu
Subjects: Africana Studies, French, German, History, Linguistics, Medieval and Renaissance Studies, Philosophy, Religion, Russian
LibKey Nomad
Use this Guide for...
- Navigating the Library
- Finding sources for your research paper
- Formatting your bibliography and footnotes
Remember: Research is a skill that everyone needs to learn and practice!
How to browse for a book
Browsing the shelves
The books in the library are shelved in call number order, so books on a similar topic are shelved together. Take time to look at the books shelved near books that you've found. You can also use Catalyst to virtually browse the shelves: click on a record for a print book title (ebooks are not included in this feature) and scroll down to Virtual Browse to see books that would be shelved nearby.
[visual description: screen shot showing book titles in the Catalyst virtual browse]
-
Atlas of the Libe (2025)A map of call numbers, study rooms, and printers!
Start with Reference
-
Oxford Bibliographies: Medieval Studies
by
Call Number: [online]ISBN: 0195396588Annotated bibliographies on dozens of topics in Medieval Studies listing authoritative, reliable, and relevant sources for research. Includes contextualizing introductions. -
Oxford Bibliographies: Renaissance and Reformation
by
Call Number: [online]ISBN: 9780195399301Annotated bibliographies on dozens of topics in the Renaissance and Reformation period (1300-1800) listing authoritative, reliable, and relevant sources for research. Includes contextualizing introductions. -
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
by
Call Number: [online]ISBN: 9780198662624Publication Date: 2010-07-29Covers all key aspects of European history, society, and culture from 500 to 1500 A.D., as well as the Byzantine Empire, Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples of the era -
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
by
Call Number: Ref D114.E53 2000 and OnlineISBN: 1579582826Availability and more information from Catalyst...
An excellent summary of recent scholarship in Medieval Studies;special emphasis placed on medieval Christendom, philosophy, theology, spirituality, and iconography. -
The New Cambridge Medieval History
by
Call Number: Ref D117 .N48 1995 and OnlineISBN: 0521362911Publication Date: 2005-12-08Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Offers a narrative of political developments in distinct regions of medieval Europe, as well as discussions of common themes within these regions.
Specialized reference works
-
Search Catalyst for reference articles onlineOne example of a search: Subject CONTAINS (encyclopedias OR handbooks OR bibliographies) AND Any field CONTAINS (medieval OR "middle ages")
-
Encyclopedia: Trade, Travel, and Exploration in the Middle Ages
by
Call Number: Ref HF1001 .T7 2000ISBN: 0815320035Publication Date: 2000Catalyst record
Thematic encyclopedia covering a range of topics: people, places, economics, literature, technology, industry, agriculture, religion. Entries have bibliographies. -
Medieval Archaeology: An Encyclopedia
by
Call Number: Ref D125 .M42 2001ISBN: 0815312865Publication Date: 2000Catalyst record
Covers 400 - 1500 CE; articles are indexed by both subject and site. -
Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs, and Customs
by
Call Number: Reference Books GR35 .M43 2000ISBN: 1576071219Publication Date: 2000Catalyst record
Offers over 300 introductory articles on themes and traditions in European folklore, 500 - 1500 CE.
