HINT: Use reference sources to...
- Find reputable primary and secondary sources
- Situate yourself in the scholarly conversation
Specialized Reference Sources
Oxford Bibliographies: Medieval Studies by Call Number: [online]ISBN: 0195396588Annotated bibliographies on dozens of topics in Medieval Studies listing authoritative, reliable, and relevant sources for research. Includes contextualizing introductions.
Oxford Bibliographies: Renaissance and Reformation by Call Number: [online]ISBN: 9780195399301Annotated bibliographies on dozens of topics in the Renaissance and Reformation period (1300-1800) listing authoritative, reliable, and relevant sources for research. Includes contextualizing introductions.
- Oxford Classical Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A key resource to classical studies, this covers all aspects of the Graeco-Roman world. Includes references to ancient works and modern scholarship. Also available in print in the reference room at call number Ref DE5 .O9
- Cambridge CompanionsCambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods. Not all titles are available.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
An authoritative full text collection of the history of scholarship in several different academic subjects. Includes over 260 volumes published since 1960 by Cambridge University Press.
- Wiley Blackwell companion seriesSearch within Catalyst for a Companion on your topic!
Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000 by Call Number: Ref HN373 .E63 2001 v.1 - 6Availability and more information from Catalyst...
An outstanding source of historiographical essays and factual articles on European social history; most longer essays have excellent bibliographies. v. 1. Methods and theoretical approaches -- The periods of social history -- Regions, nations, and peoples -- Europe and the world -- v. 2. Processes of social change -- Population and geography -- Cities and urbanization -- Rural life -- State and society -- v. 3. Social structure -- Social protest -- Deviance, crime, and social control -- Social problems and social reform -- v. 4. Gender -- The family and age groups -- Sexuality -- Body and mind -- Work -- v. 5. Culture and popular culture -- Modern recreation and leisure -- Religion -- Education and literacy -- Everyday life -- v. 6. Biographies
The New Cambridge Medieval History by Call Number: Ref D117 .N48 1995 and OnlineISBN: 0521362911Publication Date: 2005-12-08Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Offers a narrative of political developments in distinct regions of medieval Europe, as well as discussions of common themes within these regions.
General Reference
A reference work can help you become acquainted with the literature on a topic if you are not aware of any works on your topic. The bibliographies of subject entries point you to the core work on a topic (as current as the publication of the book).
ADVANCED CATALYST SEARCH: Subject (contains) [general keyword] + bibliography
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
This is a key starting place for research in several different fields, providing bibliographies on current scholarship on topics from the social sciences and humanities. - Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search across all of Carleton's online reference sources from Oxford University Press, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, maps, timelines, and quotations. - Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
An authoritative full text collection of the history of scholarship in several different academic subjects. Includes over 260 volumes published since 1960 by Cambridge University Press. - Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
Searches the indexes of our library's print reference books. When you find an entry you'd like to read, click the "Locate this book" button or put the title of the reference book into Catalyst to find the book's location in the Reference Collection.
