LibKey Nomad
Digital collections: Political history
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
The record of Congressional activities, current and past. Includes legislation, hearings, research reports, and more. - ProQuest Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Maps out the Congressional debates and documents that go into enactment of all U.S. Public Laws 1789-2025, in full text, and including all hearings and reports. - U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994 This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
One of the core U.S. government publications, with Congressional records from 1817-1994. Also *the* primary source for executive branch reports, treaties, statements, maps and more from the 1800s. - PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Includes information about articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about international public affairs. Covers publications from 1914 - present. - Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
A comprehensive set of declassified government documents, 1942-current.
- CIA FOIA Reading Room (declassified)Declassified FOIA Requests posted on the CIA web site. Contains curated historical collections.
- Presidential Recordings Program (Miller Center, UVa)Secret White House tapes (Roosevelt to Nixon), presented with transcripts and analysis from Miller Center presidential scholars.
- ProQuest History Vault This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Fully searchable, digitized archival collections having to do with American history. Carleton has collections available in these topic areas: American Indians and the American West; American Politics and Society; Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle; International Relations and Military Conflicts; Latinx History; Revolutionary War and Early America; Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War; and Women's Studies. Browse full contents. - Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969 This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
A collection of documents generated by the UK Foreign and Colonial Offices in countries and regions of Latin America. Covers 1833 - 1969. - Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969 This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
A collection of documents generated by the UK Foreign and Colonial Offices in countries and regions of the Middle East including Afghanistan, Arabia, Egypt, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Palestine, Persia, Sudan, Suez Canal, Syria, and Turkey. Covers 1812 - 1969.
- Cold War International History Project (Wilson Center Digital Archive)Documents digitized as part of the Cold War International History Project (CWIHP). It is a "tremendous collection of archival documents on the Cold War era from the once secret archives of former communist countries. CWIHP has become internationally recognized as the world’s preeminent resource on the Cold War. "
- National Archives SearchSearches across digitized and undigitized collection material from the US National Archives.
- US Presidential Libraries (National Archives)Contains information about and links to all Presidential Libraries, from Hoover to Obama. Most Libraries are actively digitizing and archiving personal papers and government documents from their respective administration.
Search CRL
The Center for Research Libraries has a number of microfilmed collections, international newspapers, and official documents from countries outside the U.S.
- CRL: Center For Research Libraries This link opens in a new windowForeign newspapers, publications, and some dissertations (some digital, some on microfilm). You may request microfilm reels and other materials through Interlibrary Loan, though CRL will sometimes digitize small requests.
- CRL Topic GuidesEach guide includes a short writeup on the landscape of the field of study, links to relevant primary source collections at CRL, and links out to related sources.
- FOCUS on Global Resources (CRL Newsletter)CRL's quarterly newsletter with themed issues.
Digital collections: Public history
- Readex AllSearch This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search across all of Carleton's Readex collections at once. Includes historical newspapers, government documents, books, ephemera, history of science and artificial intelligence, and the like. - ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Full-text and full-image articles for major newspapers from the United States (including Historical Black Newspapers); plus ABC (Spain), Le Monde, the Jerusalem Post (formerly the Palestine Post), The Korea Times, London Evening Standard, South China Morning Post, and the Times of India. Each paper is available from its first issue through about 2013 (depending on the paper). Earliest papers start in 1827. - Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window(Searches through citation information)
This index includes citations to articles in popular press publications ncluding Newsweek, Time, Life, The New Republic, The New Yorker, and The Nation. Covers 1890 - 1982. - Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search across newspapers and digitized collections of primary sources from the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries, including ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online, NCCO: Nineteenth Century Collections Online, The Making of the Modern World, The Times of London, The Illustrated London News, the Times Literary Supplement, The Economist, and many more. Covers 1604 - present (varying by source). - Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
An index of alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines from around the world. It focuses on emerging theories and practices of radical social change, socialism, national liberation, labor, Indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Covers 1969 - current. - American History in Video This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and transcripts)
Watch old news reels and new documentaries, and browse by event or by historical figure. When you search by keyword, you will also be searching the full transcript of the video.
