Current US Newspapers
To find an individual newspaper, check the library's complete Journals List. To search in multiple papers, use the online resources below.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A comprehensive current news database, contains hundreds of local, regional, national, and international news sources (including the St. Paul Pioneer Press and Minneapolis Star Tribune). - ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad collection of newspaper articles published across the U.S.. Covers 1995 - current for most newspapers. An ELM Database. - PressReader This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to the world's top newspapers and magazines as soon as they are available. Searchable by country, title, or date. Includes translation feature. - Newspapers.com This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspapers dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s. Contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional, and state titles as well as small local newspapers in the United States and other countries. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles from hundreds of national and regional newspapers. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Access to the full text of major business publications as well as other newspapers and magazines. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 300 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, including many Spanish-language Latino publications. - Proquest Recent Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Recent newspaper collections from 2008 to recent (3 month embargo) for NY Times, Star Tribune, Wall Street Journal - Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
- Current Minnesota Newspapers (NewsBank)Over 30 local Minnesota news sources, including Duluth News Tribune (11/01/1995-Current), St. Paul Pioneer Press (01/01/1988-Current), and Minneapolis Star Tribune (01/01/1986-Current).
Political Science and Theory Databases
- PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Includes information about articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about international public affairs. Covers publications from 1914 - present. - PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
A comprehensive index of works in philosophy. Includes scholarly books and journals as well as scholarship submitted directly by academic philosophers.
NOTE: Some features require a log in, but it is free to set up an account. - Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Find reports on public policy topics from major think tanks, research organizations, and advocacy groups including the Hoover Institution, International Monetary Fund, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, RAND Corporation, and the World Bank. Covers 1990-current. - ProQuest Politics Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Search across several individual databases at once: PAIS Index, Policy File Index, ProQuest Political Science Database, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. - Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
This is the core disciplinary index to political science journal articles. Broad coverage of political science along with complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration & policy. Covers 1975 - present.
General Databases
JSTOR
Online archive of 100+ full-text Political Science journals. Remember that when you search JSTOR, you're searching the full text of the articles in the archive not just the abstracts and titles. Also remember that most publishers do not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of the journals deposited here.
International Index to Black Periodicals
Explore cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues in African and African-American Studies. Covers 1998 - current.
Project MUSE
Full text of over 400 humanities and social sciences titles. Limit by title or discipline. This index and archive is a good place to search across disciplines and for theory titles, as well.
Web of Science
Use SSCI to do *cited reference searching* -- to track the number of times an article or author has been cited or referenced in other works. SSCI indexes 2,700 journals across 50 social science disciplines.
