Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

POSC 275: Black Radical Political Thought, 1919-1969

Professor Charisse Burden-Stelly-spring 2019

What is an annotated bibliography?

1. An annotated bibliography is an organized list of sources that includes a paragraph length (100-200 words) annotation.

 

2. An annotation includes a description/summary of the source and also includes a short evaluation as to how the source can be used in your argument.

 

3. An annotation is not an abstract.

 

4. We write annotated bibliographies to provide a literature review of a topic/subject. They also demonstrate the research you have conducted and allows a reader to see the major sources of information on your topic.

 

5. Writing an annotated bibliography helps you synthesize your own research and should help you develop a thesis.

Format for annotated bibliography

Looking at the Chicago Manual of Style:

  • Remember that you are required to use Chicago notes/bib citation style.  You can find a copy at the ready reference desk and online through Catalyst.
  • The more you cite, the more likely you will be able to identify what a book citation and journal article citation might look like, for example. However, it is more important to know how to use the style guide, not to memorize how to do a citation.
  • On the style guide, I recommend that you look over: “Basic Format with examples/variations” (Basic structure of a note), Bibliographies (overview and arrangement of entries), Books (all other formats are derived from Books).
  • Primary sources in Chicago Format: are explained, with examples, following the Books format.

 

What your annotated bibliography should look like:

 

  • An annotated bibliography is arranged alphabetically by author last name.
  • Citation first and then the annotation.
  • The citation has to be indented the same way you would indent it for a regular bibliography.
  • Entire annotation is indented from the left margin.

Citing Your Sources