LibKey Nomad
Call Numbers
Library of Congress Call Numbers to browse in the print reference collection or in the general collection for Sociology:
- HM - Sociology
- HN - Social Problems
- HQ - Women Studies, Gender, Family
- HT - Communities, Race
- HV - Criminology
- HX - Socialism, Communism, Utopias
This is only a partial list of the call numbers pertaining to Sociology. For a complete listing, go to the Library of Congress Classification Outline, provided by the Cataloging Policy and Support Office of the Library of Congress.
Core Sociology Databases
Use these disciplinary indexes to literature in the field of sociology and the broader social sciences as your core search tools. Then use the more specialized indexes in the next section to home in on more focused collections of literature.
- Sociology Research GuideEverything Sociology!
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Main index to research in sociology, anthropology, and related fields in the social and behavioral sciences. Covers 1963 - current.
- Sage's Sociology, Gender Studies, and Cultural Studies HubFull-text searching of some of the flagship journals in these fields.
- Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Available through the Web of Knowledge. Search through current and historical literature in the social sciences, and perform cited reference searching to see who has cite a particular document. Covers 1898 - current.
Note: To do cited reference searching, click on "cited reference search," fill in an author's last name and publication date, figure out which of the resulting list of citations match the work you're looking for, and then "finish search" to see who has cited that work.
