Catalyst: books, some articles (wide ocean of results)
- Catalyst This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search the collections of Carleton and St. Olaf College libraries.
Browse by...
Pro tip: Some helpful topics, arranged by alphabet (D comes before DA; DA 17 comes before DA 170)
- D839 - D860 Post-war global history (1945- )
- DT17 - DT39 History of Africa (general, including foreign intervention)
Pro tip: Every country in Africa has its own HISTORY call # range. For instance....
- DT509.97 - DT512.9 History of Ghana (Gold Coast)
- DT641 - DT665 History of Zaire / Congo (Democratic Republic) / Belgian Congo
- DT1701 - DT2405 History of South Africa
Pro tip: Use these call #s for paper reference, journals, and books!
Pro tip: All the world history call #s! Dive into the deep end of library geekdom!
Reference: to get the big picture
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
This is a key starting place for research in several different fields, providing bibliographies on current scholarship on topics from the social sciences and humanities.
The Oxford Handbook of the Cold War by ISBN: 9780199236961Publication Date: 2013-04-05This is a reference work that has longer chapters giving scholarly overviews of specific topics. Use this to get a handle on a topic, and then use footnotes to find more scholarship.
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A comprehensive collection of scholarship that focuses on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Contains scholarly articles, reference works, primary sources, timelines, biographies, images, maps, charts and tables, and film clips, among many other things. - Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
Searches the indexes of our library's print reference books. When you find an entry you'd like to read, click the "Locate this book" button or put the title of the reference book into Catalyst to find the book's location in the Reference Collection.
Specialized databases: more articles (condensed pond!)
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
The primary place to find scholarship on world history. (For U.S. and Canadian History, use America: History and Life). Covers publications from 1955 - present. - America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Contains information about scholarly articles on the history and culture of the U. S. and Canada. (For World History, use Historical Abstracts) - Africa Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
An indexing database that contains citations to books and journal articles published since 1984. They are searchable by keyword, subject, geographic area, country, and other bibliographic information.
Thinking critically about your primary sources
- How to Analyze a Primary SourceIncludes a good list of questions to ask of your primary source.
