Court cases
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Traditional legal materials (reported cases, statutes, government regulations, academic law reviews, commercially produced law journals and magazines, and classic treatises), historical, governmental, and political documents, legislative debates, legislative and executive branch reports, world constitutions, international treaties, military history, and reports and other documents of international organizations.
- 17th century cases can be found in their Prestate Legal Material collection
- 18th century cases can be found in their State Reports: A Historical Archive collection
HINTS
- Use the map to browse by state
- Advanced Search will search across the State Reports, but not the state you're in
- Click "Turn to page" instead of the title of the result
- There's still f/s confusion in full text search. (ex) search by "fugar" if you want results about "sugar"
- Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Manuscripts, artwork, rare printed books, photographs, Indigenous newspapers, treaties, speeches, diaries, maps, travel journals, and more. Material from and about Native American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, to the civil rights movement of the 20th century.
17th c. State-specific resources
-
CONNECTICUT: New Haven. Records of the Colony and Plantation of New-Haven, from 1638 to 1649. Printed by Case, Tiffany and Company, 1857. https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/007668636
- CONNECTICUT: New Haven. Records of the Colony or Jurisdiction of New Haven, from May, 1653, to the Union. Together with New Haven Code of 1656. Printed by Case, Lockwood and Company, 1858. https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/008730708
- CONNECTICUT: Records of the Particular Court of Connecticut, 1639-1663. Hartford, 1928. https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/001643172
- MARYLAND: [Journal] Browne, William Hand, Clayton Colman Hall, Bernard C. Steiner, Maryland Historical Society, and Maryland State Archives. Archives of Maryland. <New Ser. 1->: Publication / Maryland State Archives. Baltimore: Maryland Historical Society, 1883.
- MASSACHUSETTS: The Colonial Laws of Massachusetts: Reprinted from the Edition of 1672 with the Supplements through 1686 : Containing Also a Bibliographical Preface and Introduction Treating of All the Printed Laws from 1649 to 1686 : Together with the Body of Liberties of 1641, and the Records of the Court of Assistants, 1641-1644 /. Boston :, 1890. https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/008400828
- MASSACHUSETTS: [Course Reserves] Massachusetts. Court of Assistants. Records of the Court of Assistants of the Colony of the Massachusetts Bay, 1630-1692. Library of American Civilization ; LAC 21343-4. Boston: County of Suffolk, 1901.
- MASSACHUSETTS: Massachusetts., and George Francis Dow. Records and Files of the Quarterly Courts of Essex County, Massachusetts. Salem, Mass.: Essex institute, 1911. Volumes 1-8 available online: https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/008574615
- MASSACHUSETTS: New Plymouth Colony. Records of the Colony of New Plymouth, in New England. Press of W White, 1855. Volumes 1-12 available online: https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/006784512
- NORTH CAROLINA: North Carolina. The Colonial Records of North Carolina. P M Hale state printer, 1769. Volumes 1-27 available online: https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/008869768
- RHODE ISLAND: Rhode Island., and John Russell Bartlett. Records of the Colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, in New England: Printed by Order of the General Assembly. Providence: A.C. Greene and brother, state printers, 1856. Volumes 1-10 available online: https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/008729863
- Rider, Sidney S. (Sidney Smith), 1833-1917, and Rhode Island. Supplement to the Rhode Island Colonial Records: Comprising a List of the Freemen Admitted From May, 1747, to May, 1754. Providence, R.I.: Sidney S. Rider, 1875. https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/010029692
- VIRGINIA: [Course Reserves] Billings, Warren M., and Omohundro Institute of Early American History & Culture. The Old Dominion in the Seventeenth Century: A Documentary History of Virginia, 1606-1700. Revised edition. Chapel Hill: Published for the Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture, Williamsburg, Virginia, by the University of North Carolina Press, 2007.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Access to the full text of newspapers (foreign and domestic), as well as business, legal, medical, and reference publications.
